Gustav Eiffel's Legacy: Background information when reading To Capture What We Cannot Keep

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

To Capture What We Cannot Keep

by Beatrice Colin

To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin X
To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2016, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2017, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Davida Chazan
Buy This Book

Gustav Eiffel's Legacy

This article relates to To Capture What We Cannot Keep

Print Review

Drawing of the Eiffel TowerWhile looking into the real personalities of the characters in Beatrice Colin's To Capture What We Cannot Keep, I came to realize just how enlightening this book actually is, simply because of the hints Colin gives us into a time in history about which most of us know only a tiny part. Yes, we all know the Eiffel Tower, but little about Eiffel himself, nor do we know the other masterful civil engineers and architects of the time. For example, French engineer Émile Nouguier and Swiss engineer Maurice Koechlin designed and patented the pylons for the Eiffel Tower, without which the structure wouldn't have succeeded. Prior to this, Koechlin collaborated with none other than Gustav Eiffel for the structural elements required to build the Statue of Liberty.

Phases of the Eiffel TowerOne would think that with the Eiffel Tower and the Statue of Liberty, that Eiffel was more interested in decorative monuments than useful structures. However, this is far from the truth. Colin notes Eiffel's involvement with Ferdinand de Lesseps' project building the Panama Canal. While Eiffel didn't complete that project, his contribution to it was the series of locks to raise and lower ships passing through the canal by a stunning 85 feet, to bring them safely to the level of their destination ocean. This differed from the Suez Canal, another Ferdinand de Lesseps project, which is an artificial waterway between two seas, with no locks.

Top of the Eiffel TowerEiffel's work can be seen in many structures across the globe, including buildings, bridges and viaducts. Only the continents of Australia/Oceania and Antarctica are left untouched by his legacy. I was most surprised to see two bridges listed in Vietnam, and a pier in Izmir, Turkey, thereby including Asia into the continents with his works. I was also surprised that the Statue of Liberty is the only project of his in North America (it was built in France and assembled in the USA). Finally, after thinking that it seemed like an egotistical move to name such an iconic tower after oneself, I was pleased to see that very few of Eiffel's projects carry his name. Perhaps that's why we know so little about Eiffel, and maybe it's about time we learn some more (although I'm sure French speakers know quite a bit more than I, at least). From what I can see, he was an innovator and risk-taker who deserves for his name to live forever on that lovely tower in Paris.

First drawing of the Eiffel Tower.
Construction phases of the Eiffel Tower, courtesy of Paris Eiffel Tower News
Top of the Eiffel Tower.

Article by Davida Chazan

This "beyond the book article" relates to To Capture What We Cannot Keep. It originally ran in January 2017 and has been updated for the October 2017 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Fly Girls
by Keith O'Brien

How five daring women defied all odds and made aviation history.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.