Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews The Blind Astronomer's Daughter by John Pipkin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Blind Astronomer's Daughter

by John Pipkin

The Blind Astronomer's Daughter by John Pipkin X
The Blind Astronomer's Daughter by John Pipkin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2016, 480 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2017, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Butts
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This historical fiction novel highlights the quest for scientific discoveries—and human connections during the Enlightenment.

It's the Age of Enlightenment and it seems every man (and woman) in Europe is studying the stars. In England, musician William Herschel discovers a planet, while in Ireland, the eccentric Arthur Ainsworth seeks a planet of his own, and a respite from his grief. Herschel's and Ainsworth's astronomical pursuits notwithstanding, it's the women in their lives that drive the plot of the historical fiction novel, The Blind Astronomer's Daughter.

Arthur's daughter, Caroline Ainsworth, is an adopted orphan, rescued from a life of poverty in rural Instioge in Ireland. She is a bold and intelligent young woman, devoted to helping her increasingly blind and mentally unstable father with his study of the stars. When the Ainsworths hire a blacksmith's son, Finnegan O'Siodha, to help build a spectacular telescope, the two young people are overcome by their powerful feelings for one another.

On a parallel track, William Herschel brings his sister, another Caroline, from their native Hanover to Bath, England, where they teach music lessons and study binary stars—systems of double stars with a shared orbit (see 'Beyond the Book'). William is appointed King George III's court astronomer and Caroline is an expert in her own right with a singular devotion to the sky.

The Herschels' many discoveries, not to mention the construction of their own massive telescope, fuels a one-sided rivalry in Arthur Ainsworth who views William Herschel as the bane of his existence. When word of Herschel's discovery of "Georgium sidus" (the Georgian planet, later labeled as Uranus) reaches Ireland, Ainsworth becomes obsessed with finding a planet of his own. In the Ainsworth household, circumstances force Caroline and Finn to separate; Finn flees to Scotland where he becomes a crafter of medical devices for the limbless and otherwise impaired, while Caroline establishes herself in England, doing computations for yet more stargazers. When they both return to Instioge and it seems they'll finally be united, the Irish Rebellion comes tearing through the countryside and they must scatter and reconstruct their lives all over again.

Pipkin finds ample ground for metaphor in celestial principles, particularly gravitational pull, noting that "a solitary body will forever attract another to itself." The Herschels, Ainsworths, and Finn O'Siodha, with their chance connections and shared preoccupations, drift in and out of each others' lives, orbiting like satellites over the span of nearly 80 years. However, the analogy is made so many times, in nearly identical language, that it becomes worn with overuse. Finn and Caroline circle each other in the observatory "like two distant planets" and, just a few pages later, as Caroline observes Finn from her window, we are reminded that "solitary objects separated by inconceivable distances pull at each other."

Pipkin stays a bit too long with Arthur Ainsworth, elaborating his entire history of misfortunes and motivations, when this character turns out to be secondary in the scope of the overall narrative. The two Carolines share not only a name, but a similar disposition. Both have scars, figurative and literal, and both possess the fortitude and single-mindedness that make scientific discovery possible.

The plot takes a while to get up and running, and even when it does, proceeds slowly. To be fair, it takes time to construct a story that is as big as the heavens. While there are definite breaks in the action, the competition between the Ainsworths and the Herschels to construct a bigger and better telescope, one-sided though it may be, provides some Cold War-level tension, and when Finn finds himself entangled in the Irish Rebellion, Pipkin provides a few rousing battle scenes. The novel judiciously avoids sentimentalizing the rebels, making the wider point that, however righteous the cause, political uprisings often sweep innocent bystanders into a violent maelstrom.

The scope of The Blind Astronomer's Daughter may be a bit too big, its cast a bit too populous, but the final chapters redeem these minor flaws. The characters do not end up where one might predict but the creative novelty in the final alignment of people and events is satisfying all the same.

Reviewed by Lisa Butts

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in November 2016, and has been updated for the September 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  William and Caroline Herschel

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Blind Astronomer's Daughter, try these:

  • Enlightenment jacket

    Enlightenment

    by Sarah Perry

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    A dazzling new work of literary fiction from the author of The Essex Serpent, a story of love and astronomy told over the course of twenty years through the lives of two improbable best friends.

  • The Great Passion jacket

    The Great Passion

    by James Runcie

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    From acclaimed bestselling author James Runcie, a meditation on grief and music, told through the story of Bach's writing of the St. Matthew Passion.

We have 10 read-alikes for The Blind Astronomer's Daughter, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by John Pipkin
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...
  • Book Jacket: Craft
    Craft
    by Ananda Lima
    You may have heard about books that are letters to God, but what about books that are letters to the...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.