BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue

Behold the Dreamers

by Imbolo Mbue
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • Aug 23, 2016
  • Paperback:
  • Jun 2017
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Behold the Dreamers shines light on an immigrant family's interactions with their wealthy American employers, even as they labor for a slice of the American dream.

Behold the Dreamers, Cameroonian author Imbolo Mbue's debut novel, revolves around two very different families. Jende Jonga has emigrated from Cameroon to the United States, and as the story opens, has finally saved enough money working multiple low-income jobs to allow his wife and son to join him, and to rent a tiny apartment in Harlem.

He is in the process of navigating the complex legalities of staying in the country he loves when he lands his dream job: chauffeur to the wealthy Clark Edwards, a high-ranking member of the financial firm Lehman Brothers (see 'Beyond the Book'). Jonga initially believes the Edwards family is living the American Dream, but as the story unfolds, it becomes clear that it's on the verge of collapsing under its own very different series of stressors.

The narrative alternately relays the action from Jende's point of view and from that of his wife, Neni. Although told from the immigrants' perspectives, Behold the Dreamers is definitely not a one-sided story, instead it clearly reveals the similarities and contrasts between the Jonga and Edwards families as each attempts to achieve success – and to define what form that might take.

The plot follows the challenges they face, at first simply the day-to-day getting by, and later adapting to the scandal surrounding Lehman Brothers during the collapse of the U.S. housing market (2007-2009). The difficulties the Jongas face are what one might expect – long hours, low wages, dealing with immigration law – but certainly the Edwards family has its struggles as it deals with societal and domestic pressures. The plot isn't intricate, but it is engaging - particularly after the economic crisis, at which point the storyline veers dramatically from the expected narrative arc.

Mbue's main talent is her ability to bring her characters to life. I absolutely fell in love with Jende and his wife; the optimism with which the author infuses these characters is infectious. In spite of the challenges of making ends meet, the couple is excited about the benefits available to themselves and their children in the United States, opportunities they wouldn't have in their native country. At one point Jende tells Clark:

"I thank God every day for this opportunity, sir," he said as he switched from the center to the left lane. "I thank God, and I believe I work hard, and one day I will have a good life here. My parents, they, too, will have a good life in Cameroon. And my son will grow up to be somebody, whatever he wants to be. I believe that anything is possible for anyone who is American. Truly do, sir. And in fact, sir, I hope that one day my son will grow up to be a great man like you."

Statements like these might come across as overly sentimental, but Mbue makes her readers feel like these characters truly mean it; they're not naïve, just very hopeful. They remind us how much many of us born in this country take for granted each day. Equally convincing are Clark and Cindy Edwards, whose failing marriage and inability to appreciate what they have are painted in stark contrast to the Jongas.

The book is not without its flaws. The characters' situations and attitudes during the first two-thirds of the book lack depth. The immigrants are happy and loving in spite of financial hardship, the stresses of dealing with the U.S. legal system, and working multiple jobs to make ends meet, while the Edwards family members are wealthy, unhappy and disconnected from each other. Although all the characters are well-drawn, they initially fit too neatly into their roles. It's only close to the end, as events start spiraling out of control, that the plot becomes more realistic, leading to a much stronger book.

Also, readers never really learn about realistic U.S. attitudes toward race or the immigrant community (improbably, practically everyone is extremely friendly to the Jongas). This is not to say I didn't enjoy the book. I did, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to those interested in reading about the immigrant experience. Behold the Dreamers is an especially good book group selection, as the choices made by each family would make great fodder for discussion.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in August 2016, and has been updated for the July 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Lehman Brothers

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Behold the Dreamers, try these:

  • Daughter in Exile jacket

    Daughter in Exile

    by Bisi Adjapon

    Published 2024

    About This book

    More by this author

    The acclaimed author of The Teller of Secrets returns with a gut-wrenching, yet heartwarming, story about a young Ghanaian woman's struggle to make a life in the US, and the challenges she must overcome.

  • Infinite Country jacket

    Infinite Country

    by Patricia Engel

    Published 2021

    About This book

    More by this author

    For readers of Valeria Luiselli and Edwidge Danticat, an urgent and lyrical novel about a Colombian family fractured by deportation, offering an intimate perspective on an experience that so many have endured - and are enduring right now.

We have 15 read-alikes for Behold the Dreamers, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Imbolo Mbue
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

The moment we persuade a child, any child, to cross that threshold into a library, we've changed their lives ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.