BookBrowse Reviews Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Another Brooklyn

A Novel

by Jacqueline Woodson

Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson X
Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2016, 192 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2017, 192 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Set in the 1970s, Another Brooklyn illuminates a powerful, indelible, and fleeting friendship that unites four young lives.

There's a trend this year of award-winning writers for young people – like Robin Wasserman, Gayle Forman, and Meg Rosoff – publishing significant literary fiction for an adult audience. Now acclaimed young adult author Jacqueline Woodson joins those ranks. Woodson, who won the 2014 National Book Award (among many other accolades) for her memoir-in-verse Brown Girl Dreaming, again explores themes of coming of age in her new novel.

The title Another Brooklyn might evoke contemporary real-estate pitches about up-and-coming urban environments (e.g., "Boise, Idaho, is poised to become another Brooklyn"), but in Woodson's novel set in the 1970s, "Brooklyn," particularly its working-class Bushwick neighborhood, means something much different and more complicated: "I watched my brother watch the world, his sharp, too serious brow furrowing down in both angst and wonder. Everywhere we looked, we saw the people trying to dream themselves out. As though there was someplace other than this place. As though there was another Brooklyn." For teen-aged August, as well as her friends and family, Brooklyn is a landscape to be traversed warily, a territory rife with dangers, a place from which to escape, or at least try to.

Like many of their neighbors, August and her family are relative newcomers to Brooklyn. August moves there with her father and younger brother from a romanticized place they call SweetGrove, Tennessee. August continually reassures her brother that their mother, who had become increasingly unbalanced after their uncle's death in Vietnam, will return to them any day now. But their mother never arrives, and despite memories of her mother's exhortations to "keep women a whole other hand away from the farthest tips of your fingernails," August finds herself longing for the friendship of other girls, particularly the tight-knit relationship of three in the neighborhood: Gigi, Angela, and Sylvia.

After some initial shyness on August's part, the four become inseparable: "four girls together, amazingly beautiful and terrifyingly alone." As they travel from childhood into adolescence, they must navigate an environment in which their hopes and aspirations are continually under threat by poverty's hindrances, by men's (often unwanted) attention and expectations, and by society's assumptions about their curtailed potential.

Another Brooklyn is a novel told in retrospect. August's recollections of her adolescence – not all of them welcome – are prompted by a return visit she makes to Brooklyn as an adult, during her father's terminal illness. On the way home from the funeral, she spots Sylvia on the train, and immediately the two decades since she's last seen her friend melt away, flooding August with a rush of memories. "This is memory," she repeats again and again throughout her narrative, continually reminding readers of both the power and fallibility of human recollection and understanding.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, given Woodson's background not only as a novelist but also as a poet, Another Brooklyn is told in spare, lyrical prose, with a surface simplicity that belies its underlying narrative strength and emotional heft. Often, in Woodson's novel, what isn't said is as essential as what is, and readers come away feeling as if they, in the process of reading the novel, are somehow partners in Woodson's project of telling her poignant and devastating story about dreams deferred, destroyed, and – in rare cases – realized.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review was originally published in August 2016, and has been updated for the May 2017 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Blackout of 1977

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.