Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Homegoing

by Yaa Gyasi

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi X
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2016, 320 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2017, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A novel of breathtaking sweep and emotional power that traces three hundred years in Ghana.

It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you're a woman in 18th-century Ghana, your birth and beauty and tribe pretty much proscribe you from indulging in such flights of fantasy. So it is that just as the young and stunning Effia Otcher from the Fanteland region is promised in marriage to a white slave trader James Collins, a match that ensures the consolidation of her family's socioeconomic status, her half-sister Esi, belonging to another tribe, is swept up in the country's booming slave trade.

This roll of the dice, beyond either's control, will have the two siblings living their lives under entirely different circumstances and on two different continents. In a series of tightly knit chapters, Homegoing chronicles each sibling's descendants over seven generations as their paths diverge and interweave in surprising ways. Effia soaks in relative affluence and her immediate family members become key power brokers in the Gold Coast slave trade, even as later relatives want to have little to do with this stain of history. While bound in chains, Esi makes her way to the Deep South in America as a slave, a fate that will dog her family, shaping it with centuries of dark history.

Yaa Gyasi, herself a Ghanaian native brought up in Alabama, knows a thing or two about how the past casts a looming shadow over the present. "This is the problem of history," she writes. "We cannot know that which we were not there to see and hear and experience for ourselves. We must rely upon the words of others...whose story do we believe?" History, as Homegoing shows, is a living, breathing, fragile thing exerting its influence and marking its presence in small but readily recognizable ways. The Jim Crow South, the Great Migration, the civil rights movement of the '60s in America and the Ashanti nation's geopolitical machinations with the British (see Beyond the Book) all play out here, but the characters are always central to the narrative. It is this focus that makes for strikingly realistic fiction — the kind that works large scale events into the quotidian details of the everyday lives of people. When Kojo, a descendant of Esi, walks up to the seafront in Baltimore during the onset of the Great Migration, for example, he finds that what once used to be a sea of black faces had "turned into nothing" and knows that he too must travel North.

To capture two continents' history over three centuries is no easy feat, and Gyasi pulls it off by assigning each generation (and therefore, each character) the responsibilities of that time's corresponding historical arc and narrative. Every chapter is deliberately and carefully tailored to move the clock forward. There are times when this method — of creating panorama by cobbling together a whole series of short vignettes — feels much too tidy and convenient a ruse. Gyasi's crisp stories are sometimes wound a little too tight, one wishes for a little slack in the reel, to linger and learn more about the characters than what their carefully crafted roles allow them room for. The sheer number of players is also occasionally daunting; the family chart included at the beginning proves to be a necessary and handy guide.

Nevertheless this marvelous debut succeeds in creating an impressive sweep by the sheer dint of powerful writing and narrative scope. "In my village we have a saying about separated sisters," Esi's mom tells her. "They are like a woman and her reflection, doomed to stay on opposite sides of the pond." An ambitious saga that moves back and forth across these "opposite sides of the pond" and weaves a rich and colorful tapestry, Homegoing is an emotionally resonant debut that hints at great things yet to come from an immensely talented storyteller.

Reviewed by Poornima Apte

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in June 2016, and has been updated for the May 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Homegoing, try these:

  • The Last Nomad jacket

    The Last Nomad

    by Shugri Said Salh

    Published 2022

    About this book

    "I am the last nomad. My ancestors traveled the East African desert in search of grazing land for their livestock, and the most precious resource of all - water. When they exhausted the land and the clouds disappeared from the horizon, their accumulated ancestral knowledge told them where to move next to find greener pastures. They loaded their ...

  • His Only Wife jacket

    His Only Wife

    by Peace Adzo Medie

    Published 2021

    About this book

    "Elikem married me in absentia; he did not come to our wedding."

We have 18 read-alikes for Homegoing, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Yaa Gyasi
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.