BookBrowse Reviews Redemption Road by John Hart

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Redemption Road

by John Hart

Redemption Road by John Hart X
Redemption Road by John Hart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2016, 432 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2017, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A cop with challenges in her past and present must solve a case that upends her gut instincts about right and wrong.

Themes of loyalty, family, honesty and trust play out strongly in Redemption Road, which tells the story of North Carolina police detective Elizabeth Black. This is John Hart's first novel since Iron Hill (2011), a five-year publication gap (see 'Beyond the Book') from a best-selling author, who is also the only writer to win Edgar Awards for consecutive novels – Down River (2007) and The Last Child (2009).

From the opening scene, Redemption Road brings an array of damaged, complex characters to life. Black is on the hunt for a serial killer who strangles victims and leaves their bodies draped in white linen on the altar of a church. Then there is Gabriel, a teenager who steals his father's gun and sneaks out into the night to confront Adrian Wall, the man convicted of murdering his mother. Wall, a former police officer, bears mental and physical scars as a result of his time inside, and is about to be released on parole.

Since her involvement as a police officer in Gabriel's mother's murder investigation, Elizabeth Black has remained close to the boy despite the fact that she has never been sure that Adrian Wall was really guilty. Soon after Wall is released, however, a woman is found dead: murdered and arranged on the altar in an abandoned church, just as Gabriel's mother was thirteen years earlier. Elizabeth finds herself questioning her instincts about Adrian. In addition, returning to the church she attended as a child, stirs up haunting memories from the past she would rather forget.

As the novel's protagonist, Elizabeth Black is an engaging and multifaceted character facing challenges from the past and the present. When the story opens, she has just been suspended pending an investigation into a case involving the kidnapping of a teenage girl, Channing.

Hart, who has been much praised for his stand-alone crime novels, takes on a female main character for the first time in Redemption Road and it is a challenge he embraces well. In his words, Elizabeth is "not just strong but deep, not just alive but living, bleeding, fighting." She is surrounded by other believable and complex characters: her partner Beckett; her religious parents; Channing, and the wonderfully named Crybaby Jones, a lawyer who comes out of retirement to defend Adrian Wall. They combine to bring an emotional depth to the twisting plot and elevate this thriller into a more complex psychological drama.

The imaginary North Carolina town where Redemption Road is set, is a dark place. It should be noted that violence, sexual abuse and torture are all on display here, but despite the grim subjects, this is a novel that lives up to its title. The road to redemption for many of Hart's characters is as rocky and twisting as you would hope for in this genre, with a conclusion that is highly satisfying.

Reviewed by Kate Braithwaite

This review was originally published in June 2016, and has been updated for the May 2017 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Arduous Process of Writing

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.