BookBrowse Reviews The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dogs of Littlefield

by Suzanne Berne

The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne X
The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2016, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2017, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A novel that reveals the discontent concealed behind the manicured lawns and picket fences of darkest suburbia.

I was surprised to learn, upon perusing the copyright page of American author Suzanne Berne's new novel, The Dogs of Littlefield, that it had actually been published in the United Kingdom three years earlier. It makes a sort of sense – one of Berne's previous novels, A Crime in the Neighborhood, is a previous winner of the Orange Prize, one of the most prestigious UK literary awards, now called the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction. But this novel satirizing a privileged American suburb just feels so...American.

Fictional Littlefield, Massachusetts, is the kind of town that epitomizes the American Dream. Located within commuting distance of Boston, populated largely by college professors, investment bankers, psychotherapists, and their well-adjusted children; home to well-preserved older houses, leafy streets, good schools, a cozy diner, and a popular park, Littlefield has recently landed on one of those round-ups of the best places to live in America. Which is why it's come to the attention of sociocultural anthropologist Clarice Watkins of the University of Chicago, who until recently has spent her whole career researching communities in crisis that are victims of global destabilization. What, Dr. Watkins wonders, must it feel like to live in a town like Littlefield, where "good quality of life" trumps global destabilization?

Within days of Dr. Watkins's arrival, though, Littlefield erupts in a crisis of its own making. A vigorous and contentious public debate about the pros and cons of allowing dogs off-leash in the city park has pitted neighbors against one another, a tense situation that escalates quickly when the bullmastiff owned by local novelist George Wechsler turns up dead, the victim of an apparent poisoning. As the canine body count rises over the next several months, so do Dr. Watkins's opportunities to observe the residents of Littlefield in their natural habitat, gaining invitations to their dinner parties, book clubs, bar mitzvahs, and birthday parties, and eventually learning more about these suburban denizens than they may even know about themselves.

Central to Dr. Watkins's observations are the Downings – Margaret, Bill, and their daughter Julia. At first glance, the Downings seem like the ideal family: Bill is a successful investment banker, and Margaret is a former music teacher who now stays home with Julia, who plays oboe and soccer in middle school. Even their dog, Binx, is adorable. But, as in Littlefield itself, there are more than a few chinks in the Downings' well-constructed armor, imperfections that become more and more apparent as the latest Littlefield crisis inspires suspicions, betrayals, and profound mistrust.

What does "good quality of life" mean? Are people's own problems largely just distortions of perception? Do comfort and complacence always go hand in hand? These are questions that run through The Dogs of Littlefield, questions that form the focus of Dr. Watkins's investigations, but will eventually be shared by the novel's readers as well. However, this isn't just a novel of ideas; Berne's scrutiny of upper-middle-class suburbia is also grounded in specific scenes that offer rich fodder for satire: a town meeting, a dinner party, and a book group (particularly ironic since Berne's novel itself is more than likely to spark heated discussion at countless book groups). Frequently hilarious, always intriguing, Berne's foray into the dining rooms and psychotherapy offices of Littlefield will prompt readers to look anew at their own aspirations and relationships.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2016, and has been updated for the January 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Dogs of Littlefield, try these:

  • The Locals jacket

    The Locals

    by Jonathan Dee

    Published 2018

    About this book

    More by this author

    A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times - fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan.

  • The Wonder Garden jacket

    The Wonder Garden

    by Lauren Acampora

    Published 2016

    About this book

    More by this author

    Deliciously creepy and masterfully complex The Wonder Garden heralds the arrival of a phenomenal new talent in American fiction.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Dogs of Littlefield, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Suzanne Berne
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Red Memory
    Red Memory
    by Tania Branigan
    Tania Branigan's Red Memory is an astounding and often harrowing study of Mao's China. A lead writer...
  • Book Jacket: The Postcard
    The Postcard
    by Anne Berest
    Anne Berest's The Postcard — with an elegant translation from the French by Tina Cover &...
  • Book Jacket
    Elektra
    by Jennifer Saint
    Few cultures in history mastered the art of tragedy quite like the ancient Greeks. And very few ...
  • Book Jacket: Salvage This World
    Salvage This World
    by Michael Farris Smith
    In the near-future universe of Michael Farris Smith's Salvage This World, life-threatening ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Little Italian Hotel
    by Phaedra Patrick

    Sunny, tender and brimming with charm, The Little Italian Hotel explores marriage, identity and reclaiming the present moment.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y S M Back A I'll S Y

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.