BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews The Emperor of Any Place by Tim Wynne-Jones

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Emperor of Any Place by Tim Wynne-Jones

The Emperor of Any Place

by Tim Wynne-Jones
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  •  Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
  • Oct 13, 2015
  • Paperback:
  • Mar 2017
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This intense look at the toll of war might be classified as YA but makes excellent reading for people of all ages.

One of my very favorite historical novels is Tamar by the deceased author Mal Peet. After I finished The Emperor of Any Place, I was pleased—but not entirely surprised—that its author, Tim Wynne-Jones, credits Tamar as a major influence. Both books are memorable for their profound engagement with the devastating complexities, paradoxes, and staggering personal tolls of war—and equally, for the fact that these brilliant insights arise out of works of literature aimed not at adults, but at young people.

The central modern-day character in Emperor is seventeen-year-old Evan, who has been shattered by the sudden death of his beloved father. Evan's mother left the family when he was still a toddler. At the urging of other adults, Evan reaches out to his only other known relative: his grandfather, Griff, a career military man whom Evan has never met. Evan doesn't fully understand the rift that had existed between his dad and grandfather since it happened long before he was born; all he knows is that it stemmed from his dad's decision to avoid the draft during the Vietnam war by fleeing to Canada.

When Griff arrives in Evan's Toronto suburb (nicknamed "Any Place" by Evan and his dad), Evan has to wonder whether his grandfather has a hidden agenda. After all, his dad had died just days after receiving a mysterious manuscript from a stranger in California—whose origins somehow seem to be connected to Griff.

The manuscript is an English translation of a series of journals written in Japanese during the waning months of World War II, by a serviceman, Isamu Oshiro. Oshiro is trapped on a tiny unknown island he nicknames Kokoro-Jima or the "heart-shaped island." His account of his time there, written as a long letter to his beloved wife back home, relates stories of monsters and ghosts, and of an unexpected friendship between Oshiro and the one other human denizen of the island, an American serviceman, Derwood Kraft, who's survived a plane crash.

Kraft and Oshiro come not only to communicate with each other but they also rely on and trust one another. Their relationship utterly illustrates not only the peculiar bonds that can arise during wartime but also their limitations in the face of global forces far stronger than any individual or pair of people. This war story, which is included in full, alternates with glimpses of Evan and Griff's similarly uneasy, even rocky, nascent relationship—the parallels between the two narratives are subtle but effective, and will not be lost on careful readers.

The contemporary story of Evan and his grandfather is realistic and convincing as a modern-day story of a young man coming of age during a time of grief. The historical narrative includes supernatural scenes and creatures whose presence adds suspense—even terror—and vividly deepens and enriches the novel's themes about the vital need for storytelling, the strength of memories, the strong pull of family connections, and the catastrophic personal and social costs of war. Pretty intense stuff—one reason why The Emperor of Any Place is worthwhile reading for all ages, young adult and up.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in November 2015, and has been updated for the March 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Emperor of Any Place, try these:

  • The Fountains of Silence jacket

    The Fountains of Silence

    by Ruta Sepetys

    Published 2020

    About This book

    More by this author

    From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray comes a gripping, unforgettable portrait of love, silence, and secrets amidst a Spanish dictatorship.

  • Midnight at the Electric jacket

    Midnight at the Electric

    by Jodi Lynn Anderson

    Published 2019

    About This book

    More by this author

    New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson's epic tale - told through three unforgettable points of view - is a masterful exploration of how love, determination, and hope can change a person's fate.

We have 10 read-alikes for The Emperor of Any Place, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Tim Wynne-Jones
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.