BookBrowse Reviews Internal Medicine by Terrence Holt

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Internal Medicine

A Doctor's Stories

by Terrence Holt

Internal Medicine by Terrence Holt X
Internal Medicine by Terrence Holt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2014, 240 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2015, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Internal Medicine is not only an account of what it means to be a doctor, but also what it means to be human.

When we go to a doctor we hope that they know what they're doing. We want them to be compassionate, and sure of an outcome that gets us better. We've read the news about doctors making mistakes, but we don't want this to happen to us. We've only got the one body, after all. We want the best care possible for it.

In Internal Medicine, a collection of stories stretched out over the length of one doctor's residency, doctor and author Terrence Holt gives us faith in that "best care" scenario, as well as hope that there are doctors like him in our communities. He begins his stories at the start of his residency in internal medicine, but they are not based entirely on his experiences. From the introduction:

In writing these stories I have drawn on what I thought and felt and generally did as a resident, but in re-creating experience as parable I have watched the narrator of these pieces evolve into someone else. He dealt with patients different from the ones I cared for, and did so, necessarily, in ways I never did.

In a way, Holt, looking back on his residency with the subsequent experiences of a full-fledged doctor, has a beneficial hindsight. It is clear that he has taken in what's important to him from his career experiences, and, after looking thoughtfully at each piece, shows them to us. By this method, Holt carefully and gracefully sculpts his words to the very marrow of their meaning. Under the surface of the simple language he employs, there is enormous impact that makes us sit back and think about these stories long after.

Take, for example, "The Perfect Code," the first few pages of which is a vivid, jarring description of what happens during a "code," when a patient's heart has stopped and a hospital medical team is trying to revive her. To get readers right in the middle of this frantic activity, Holt places it in second person. It's not him. It's you. You're the one with the paddles in hand.

Holt describes patients, from the dying Mrs. B in "A Sign of Weakness," who staunchly refuses an oxygen mask; to Mr. Jenkins in "Giving Bad News," who doesn't remember being given his cancer diagnosis; to the obese Marie's critical heart condition in "Heart Failure," who has a beautiful memory of ice cream missing from a cone. All that Holt seems to ask for from us, his readers, is that we take something that is meaningful from his stories, which might mean watching our own health or considering a hospital from the perspectives of those who give it life, especially that of a doctor with Herculean stamina, even without much sleep.

"The Surgical Mask," about an elective month that Holt took during his residency to be part of the hospice service, feels like the centerpiece of Internal Medicine. The patient is Sylvia Turner, ravaged by cancer of the nose, half her face hidden behind a surgical mask. Through this story, Holt shows that illness doesn't solely define a person. He sees – and allows the reader thus to see – countless paintings lovingly featuring parrots, all created by Sylvia before the cancer cruelly snatched her away from her art. In that moment, Internal Medicine cements itself as a book about compassionate caring, and reading it offers hope that doctoring can and should be done right.

Hopefully Holt will give us more books to ponder and to appreciate just like this one.

Reviewed by Rory L. Aronsky

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in October 2014, and has been updated for the November 2015 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Medical Tourism

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Internal Medicine, try these:

  • An American Sickness jacket

    An American Sickness

    by Elisabeth Rosenthal

    Published 2018

    About this book

    Award-winning New York Times reporter Dr. Elisabeth Rosenthal reveals the dangerous, expensive, and dysfunctional American healthcare system, and tells us exactly what we can do to solve its myriad of problems.

  • Do No Harm jacket

    Do No Harm

    by Henry Marsh

    Published 2016

    About this book

    More by this author

    An unforgettable insight into the countless human dramas that take place in a busy modern hospital, and a lesson in the need for hope when faced with life's most difficult decisions.

We have 6 read-alikes for Internal Medicine, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Terrence Holt
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Daughter in Exile
    Daughter in Exile
    by Bisi Adjapon
    In Bisi Adjapon's Daughter in Exile, main character Lola is a Ghanaian who lands in New York City in...
  • Book Jacket
    The Correspondents
    by Judith Mackrell
    In the introduction to The Correspondents, author Judith Mackrell points out that although there had...
  • Book Jacket: Exiles
    Exiles
    by Jane Harper
    Our First Impressions readers were thrilled to return to the world of Jane Harper's protagonist ...
  • Book Jacket: Spice Road
    Spice Road
    by Maiya Ibrahim
    Imani is a Shield, a warrior who is renowned for her fighting abilities and for her iron dagger, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Nurse's Secret
by Amanda Skenandore
A fascinating historical novel based on the little-known story of America's first nursing school.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Once We Were Home
    by Jennifer Rosner

    From the author of The Yellow Bird Sings, a novel based on the true stories of children stolen in the wake of World War II.

  • Book Jacket

    The Last Russian Doll
    by Kristen Loesch

    A haunting epic of betrayal, revenge, and redemption following three generations of Russian women.

Win This Book
Win Last House Before the Mountain

Last House Before the Mountain by Monika Helfer

A spellbinding, internationally bestselling family saga set in a fractured rural village in WWI Austria.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

R Peter T P P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.