BookBrowse Reviews Michelangelo by Miles J. Unger

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Michelangelo

A Life in Six Masterpieces

by Miles J. Unger

Michelangelo
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2014, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2015, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Suzanne Reeder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

This meticulous biography illuminates not just the life of the great artist but also the history of Rome and Florence during his time.

In Michelangelo: A Life in Six Masterpieces, Miles J. Unger examines the genius artist and his long and illustrious career. This meticulously researched book is equally insightful and entertaining, teeming with detailed accounts and rich descriptions that bring not only Michelangelo to vivid life but also the Renaissance era in which he lived, when "the princes of the Church" had the power to make or break an artist's career.

A former contributing writer for The New York Times and former Managing Editor of Art New England, Unger's work also has appeared in The Washington Post, The Boston Globe, and numerous other publications. He has authored three previous books, including Magnifico: The Brilliant Life and Violent Times of Lorenzo de'Medici and Machiavelli: A Biography.

Unger's narrative begins with the artist as a 73-year-old man who has just written a ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.