BookBrowse Reviews The Stranger on the Train by Abbie Taylor

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Stranger on the Train

by Abbie Taylor

The Stranger on the Train
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    May 2014, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

The Stranger on the Train is a psychological thriller about a mother's worst nightmare: her son is left on a subway train.

The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to one summer day during high school. I was babysitting my five-year-old sister, and since I didn't yet have a driver's license and she couldn't ride a bike very well, we got around our Midwestern town using the small, but adequate, city bus system. That particular day, after I let her pull the cord for our stop and the bus pulled over to the curb by the entrance to the swimming pool, I exited the bus via the rear door and then turned around to help my sister down the stairs - but in that moment, the bus doors slammed shut and the bus pulled away with my sister still on board. Fortunately, a fellow passenger helped alert the driver to the situation as I ran after the bus, and I was reunited with my sister after only a half block or so. But I'll never forget that moment of panic as I watched ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Child Abduction Novels

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.