BookBrowse Reviews Dark Aemilia by Sally O'Reilly

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dark Aemilia

A Novel of Shakespeare's Dark Lady

by Sally O'Reilly

Dark Aemilia
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2014, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2015, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Dark Aemilia brings Elizabethan England to life using the story of William Shakespeare's alleged muse, Aemilia Lanyer, as inspiration.

Sally O'Reilly's novel features a protagonist modeled after real-life historical figure Aemilia Lanyer, an Elizabethan poet believed by some as the inspiration for the Dark Lady of William Shakespeare's sonnets. The collection of 154 sonnets, published in 1609, are generally thought to be autobiographical in nature. They contain three principal characters: the Fair Youth, the Rival Poet and the Dark Lady, who is the subject of twenty-five sonnets. Shakespeare describes a passionate but doomed love affair and has many harsh words and recriminations for his lover (for more about the Dark Lady, see 'Beyond the Book').

Aemilia narrates the story from her point of view, opening it by describing herself as "a witch for the modern age." It is a bold beginning and Aemilia is a bold protagonist — fiercely independent and clever in an age when women's roles were ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Who Was Shakespeare's Dark Lady?

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.