Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews Be Safe I Love You by Cara Hoffman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Be Safe I Love You

by Cara Hoffman

Be Safe I Love You by Cara Hoffman X
Be Safe I Love You by Cara Hoffman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 304 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2015, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Using a woman soldier as protagonist, Be Safe I Love You evaluates the effects of post-traumatic stress disorder and its far-reaching effects.

Both beautifully written and psychologically suspenseful, Be Safe I Love You explores the impact and damage of war beyond the battlefield — especially its effects on an American woman soldier.

The protagonist is nineteen year-old Lauren Clay, who returns to her rural New York hometown on Christmas day, from a year's tour of duty in Iraq. "No one was waiting at the airport...because she had told no one she was coming home." She is alone. But only because she won't ask anyone else for help. She only trusts herself.

When Lauren was much younger, her mother abandoned the family, sending her unemployed father into debilitating depression. Lauren assumed responsibility for raising her younger brother, Danny. Fiercely protective, she saw the army as the best way to ensure that she could provide a financially stable life for her beloved sibling. So despite having been an excellent student with exceptional musical talent, she gave up her dreams of college and enlisted straight out of high school.

Lauren is tough, independent, and resourceful — desirable traits for a soldier. Understandably, coming home brings on a rush of memories. She suddenly sees her hometown as well as her family and friends from a new perspective. Hoffman's fluid prose keeps us inside Lauren's mind for the majority of the story. We see what she sees. Feel what she feels. Believe what she believes.

But Hoffman also skillfully slips back and forth in time, parceling out information and insights into each of Lauren's experiences as she tries to re-assimilate into life out of the army. Through memories and occasional flashbacks we see how Lauren struggles to reconcile her past with the way things have changed since she's been gone. For instance, her father has finally gotten out of bed. He's working and taking care of Danny; things he couldn't do for her. And yet, she can't quite trust him to stay that way. Her boyfriend Shane seems soft and weak now. She can tell he desires her "tanned, taut…war body." When he sees her tattoos, she sees "his look of distress and then hunger." She loves Shane, but is frustrated by his gentleness. Then again, she's frustrated with everyone. She feels as though she's "come home to a world of fragile baby animals." Even her beloved brother is not whom she wants him to be. She fought to protect him, but now she's worried because he doesn't know how to take care of himself. Lauren knows she is going to have to teach him survival skills.

Except she might not have it all exactly right. As the story progresses and Lauren becomes increasingly agitated and anxious, we are allowed into the minds of other characters. We see little bits of her through the eyes of Danny, Shane, her best friend Holly, and even the army psychologist who is desperate to get in contact with Lauren. Through these shifts of perspective we see that as much as everyone seems to have changed in her eyes, it is really Lauren who has changed most of all.

For the most part, these alternate point of views enrich the story and allow for a deeper and clearer understanding. However, occasionally I felt a bit manipulated by the shifts and fade-outs. Information is withheld at times and details, when added, are unnecessarily confusing—it feels as though we are kept purposefully in the dark simply to add intrigue and tension. The plot is compelling though with a heightened and escalating pace sure to keep readers riveted.

For me, the character study of Lauren is the most impressive part. She is an authentically real and flawed individual, one whom I admire and wanted desperately to be okay. It's tragic that she feels so completely alone. The reader understands there are people who love her, who want to help her out; but Lauren can't let her guard down enough to let them close. Beyond her family and closest friends, her former music teacher Troy bears his own war scars as does her father's best friend P.J. But instead of turning to them for support, she chooses to isolate herself. By the time she leaves town with Danny in order to visit their mother upstate, we know Lauren is on unstable ground. But we don't know exactly what information we're missing. The palpable tension and worrisome situation creates a page-turning build-up.

Although the policy of including women in combat situations is still controversial, the fact that Lauren is female is incidental. She's far tougher than any of the men we meet in this novel. There is no reason to blame her gender for her distress. The scars she bears are not because she is weak, and certainly not because is a woman. Be Safe I Love You is a poignant study of the far-reaching consequences of post-traumatic stress disorder. It reminds us that it is not only veterans who are impacted by the horrors of war. It has the potential to damage anyone and everyone.

Reviewed by Sarah Tomp

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in June 2014, and has been updated for the April 2015 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  American Women in the Military

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Be Safe I Love You, try these:

  • The Sweetness of Water jacket

    The Sweetness of Water

    by Nathan Harris

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A profound debut about the unlikely bond between two freedmen who are brothers and the Georgia farmer whose alliance will alter their lives, and his, forever.

  • The Signal Flame jacket

    The Signal Flame

    by Andrew Krivak

    Published 2017

    About this book

    More by this author

    The stunning second novel from National Book Award finalist Andrew Krivak - a heartbreaking, captivating story about a family awaiting the return of their youngest son from the Vietnam War.

We have 11 read-alikes for Be Safe I Love You, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Cara Hoffman
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...
  • Book Jacket: Craft
    Craft
    by Ananda Lima
    You may have heard about books that are letters to God, but what about books that are letters to the...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.