BookBrowse Reviews China Dolls by Lisa See

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

China Dolls

by Lisa See

China Dolls by Lisa See X
China Dolls by Lisa See
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2014, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2015, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This sparkling wartime saga follows three girlfriends who meet in San Francisco's Chinatown in 1938.

"Only three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth." This quotation, attributed to the Buddha, is the epigraph to Lisa See's China Dolls and gives a hint of the novel's tripartite structure: its three chronological sections are built through the alternating first-person narration of three Asian-American women. It also introduces a key thematic element of the book: searching for the truth amid lies and betrayal.

In October 1938, nineteen-year-old Grace Lee gets off a bus in San Francisco, having traveled halfway across the country from Plain City, Ohio. She looks for work at the Golden Gate International Exposition, but is told that – as an American-born Chinese – she is neither "American" nor "Chinese" enough to qualify as a dancer in their shows. "You need to do the ching-chong thing," one employer demands. But having escaped her father's beatings, Grace is too dignified to put on an accent to get work. Instead, she heads to Chinatown (see 'Beyond the Book'), where she meets Helen Fong, a widow who lives in a traditional compound with 29 relatives; and chatty Ruby Tom, who has recently moved to California from Hawaii. Before long Grace and Helen learn that Ruby is actually Japanese, but passing as Chinese to audition to be a "pony" (slang for a dancer) at the Forbidden City nightclub.

See emphasizes the fact that, although these three young women are all of Asian origin, they could not be more different. Grace's all-American upbringing completely eschewed the Chinese language and cuisine, while Helen has been totally immersed in Chinese culture despite living in America for most of her life. While Grace is homely and almost improbably naïve, Ruby is both worldly – with speech full of innuendo and sailor slang – and almost otherworldly in her beauty: "the gardenias in her hair…made her look like a glamorous crane amidst a flock of chickens," Helen marvels.

In spite of their eventual success in nightclub musical acts, they share a sense that "we'll never be accepted as Americans." Helen believes that "all three of us were alone in the world – each in our own ways. I saw, felt, an invisible string of connection tying us together." Indeed, they are linked in unexpected ways by trauma, and by romance – which traps two of them in an uneasy love triangle. I appreciated See's use of apt food metaphors, in this case to symbolize the girls' friendship: "The show kids said we went together like ginger, scallions, and garlic: put us in a pot and you get the perfect dish." Yet as they grow closer, sharing apartments and gigs, the cardinal virtue of loyalty often seems at odds with the exigencies of stardom. Especially when World War II begins and Ruby's Japanese heritage earns her suspicion and persecution, it seems uncertain whether the girls' friendship can survive its burden of secrets and duplicity.

See vividly depicts the bawdy atmosphere of the semi-nude nightclubs where the "Chinese Fred Astaire" and "Chinese Frank Sinatra" got their start. She peoples her Chinatown settings with a mixture of fictional and historical characters (Ronald Reagan and Errol Flynn make the briefest of cameo appearances), and gives intense visual descriptions of the girls' song-and-dance routines, many of which, such as Ruby's Princess Tai act, the Chinese Dancing Sweethearts, the Slant-Eyed Scandals, and the Swing Sisters, are an "Oriental mishmash." There is a self-deprecating aspect to some of these, but the documentation of racial humor may offend more sensitive readers. In an epilogue set in 1988, Helen's granddaughter accuses Grace of "perpetuating Asian stereotypes," but I believe See's intention of showing the Asian-American entertainment industry exactly as it was — good and bad — is admirable.

The strategy of dividing first-person narration three ways is less successful than it might have been. At the beginning, the three voices seem quite distinctive. Helen peppers her sections with Chinese proverbs, sounding like the mouthpiece of traditional wisdom; for example, "Even a crow loses its gait when attempting to roam like a swan" is a warning not to get above oneself. Meanwhile, Ruby fully embraces period slang: "We'd bumped gums some, talking a bit about this and that…I wasn't about to start busting out the waterworks." As the novel continues, though, the voices sound far too alike. A wonderful section of letters exchanged in 1944 goes some way toward redeeming the approach. However, I wonder if a third-person omniscient perspective might have worked better overall, or if See should have chosen just one girl (probably Grace) to be the narrator. I also feel the novel was trying to cover too much historical ground and might have been improved by zooming in on a shorter time span.

Nonetheless, it is impossible not to be impressed by the vast amount of research that went into China Dolls. From Chinatown nightclubs and a Hollywood studio to Japanese internment camps, See knows her settings through and through, and uses them as a vibrant backdrop for this touching story of three "true-heart friends."

Reviewed by Rebecca Foster

This review was originally published in June 2014, and has been updated for the March 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  San Francisco's Chinatown

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.