San Francisco's Chinatown: Background information when reading China Dolls

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

China Dolls

by Lisa See

China Dolls by Lisa See X
China Dolls by Lisa See
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2014, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2015, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
San Francisco's Chinatown

Print Review

San Francisco's Chinatown (the setting of Lisa See's China Dolls) is the oldest in the United States, and the largest confluence of Chinese people and culture outside of Asia. In 2013, the San Francisco Planning Department announced that Chinatown is "the most densely populated urban area west of Manhattan" – some 15,000 residents live in just 20 square blocks. Although there are now four Chinatown areas in San Francisco, the main and original one, established in 1848, is located on Grant Avenue and Stockton Street. The Grant Avenue entrance is guarded by the Dragon Gate, erected in 1970, and the thoroughfare is lined with original 1920s streetlights shaped like golden dragons.

Chinatown's Dragon Gate Between the 1850s and 1900s, Chinatown was the only place in San Francisco where Chinese immigrants were allowed to open businesses or inherit property. The majority of inhabitants were male, often miners, railroad workers, shopkeepers, or restaurateurs. Immigrants were processed at a Western counterpart of Ellis Island, Angel Island in San Francisco Bay, which is now a state park. Restrictive immigration laws such as the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882 limited the number of Chinese who could settle in the country, and conflict between tongs (secret societies with criminal associations) led to regular outbursts of violence.

In 1900-1904, 113 residents of Chinatown died of bubonic plague, and the neighborhood was nearly flattened by the earthquake of 1906. The Exclusion Act was finally repealed during World War II, and the 1960s brought another large wave of Chinese immigration, this time from Hong Kong. Many of these more recent settlers have taken up working-class jobs in garment factories or restaurants; they have also skewed the language balance, which is now dominated by the Cantonese dialect.

Replica of Goddess of Democracy Statue Portsmouth Square, known as "The Heart of Chinatown," is one of the community's few open spaces and often hosts t'ai chi practice and Chinese chess matches. It also houses a replica of the Goddess of Democracy statue, a famous emblem of the Tiananmen Square protest. Author Robert Louis Stevenson enjoyed spending time in the square during his San Francisco stay in 1879-80.

Chinatown has two distinct personalities: Grant Avenue is geared toward tourists, while Stockton Street is more authentically Chinese, resembling Hong Kong with its back alleys filled with produce stalls and fish markets. The area houses dozens of restaurants, shops, acupuncturists, galleries, and temples. Other highlights include the Chinese Historical Society of America and the Golden Gate Fortune Cookie Factory, where two women still hand-make 20,000 cookies a day. The Lunar New Year, Miss Chinatown USA pageant, and Autumn Moon Festival in September are major seasonal celebrations. Today Chinatown and the Golden Gate Bridge vie for the title of San Francisco's top tourist location.

Picture of Chinatown Dragon Gate by chensiyuan. From Wikipedia
Picture of replica Goddess of Democracy statue from Wikipedia

Article by Rebecca Foster

This article was originally published in June 2014, and has been updated for the March 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.