BookBrowse Reviews In the Light of What We Know by Zia Haider Rahman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In the Light of What We Know

by Zia Haider Rahman

In the Light of What We Know by Zia Haider Rahman X
In the Light of What We Know by Zia Haider Rahman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 512 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2015, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In the Light of What We Know is a bold debut novel set during the war and financial crisis that defined the beginning of the 21st century.

The timing could not have been better. It is the fall of 2008; the world markets are just about to go into freefall, and the unnamed narrator of the sprawling novel, In the Light of What We Know, is getting ready to be "tied to the stake to satisfy the public's lust for blood." A derivatives trader and junior partner in his firm, he is only too relieved by the distraction that presents itself at his door - Zafar, a long-lost friend and fellow banker. From the very outset, it is apparent that Zafar is haunted. A human being fleeing ghosts while chasing shadows. This is how the narrator describes his friend.

Exactly what are these ghosts and shadows that preoccupy Zafar? Over the course of more than 400 pages, in what amounts to the metaphorical equivalent of one endless session on the couch, Zafar tries to exorcise the demons that have haunted him for so long. Arguably the biggest of these is class. To the outsider, Zafar and the narrator might appear to be cast from similar molds: both trace their origins to South Asia; both have had successful careers as bankers; both have been educated in the world's most elite institutions. Yet they couldn't be further apart. Much like the author, Zafar comes from rural Bangladesh; these humble origins funnel his family into poverty even after they move to England. On the other hand, the narrator is an American born in Princeton to a rich Pakistani family, with connections in the high places all over the world. Zafar feels this difference in class acutely, and not just in his dealings with the narrator, which might be blunted somewhat because they share the same race. He also feels it in his interactions with the English folks he meets both growing up in a working class London neighborhood and during his years at Oxford. What gave away his humble origins, Zafar remembers, was not his lack of specific brands of clothing or anything as simple as that:

They saw the way my eyes moved, my eyes watched, they saw through the scholarship boy who's always afraid he's going to trip up so he grabs every piece of information around him, every gesture, and reads every sign - because reading is what he does. They saw that none of it came naturally to me but was arranged by an effective mind, and because it was arranged and considered, measured and oblique, they saw the workings of design, the sweat of labor, and not the effortless charm of superior origins.

This fascination with class only intensifies when Zafar falls for the enchanting Emily Hampton-Wyvern. A pure English blue blood, Emily decides to do good in Afghanistan and gets drawn into the mega-complex of international NGOs all wanting a piece of the reconstruction pie. The most searing sections are the ones set in Afghanistan where it becomes clear that winning hearts and minds is an impossibly complicated task. Zafar is appalled by the incredible naivete of the Westerner trying to do the right thing in every wrong way possible: "They cannot abandon their imperialist mentality, every utterance steeped in orientalist bullshit," Zafar complains about the West. It is here in Afghanistan, that most of the real action in the book is set and where the book comes to an interesting - if slightly unsatisfying - conclusion. It should be made clear that despite the urgent tone of the sections set in Afghanistan all the "action" that unfolds is still in the past - viewed through Zafar's rearview mirror. It is interesting to note that while Zafar accuses the West of naivete with respect to their actions in Central Asia, he is not himself above such black-and-white leaps of faith. He is quick to bemoan class-obsessed England, yet hints the Harvard in that other Cambridge might be above all that. Here, people "showed no deference to breeding, manners or detachment." It was all only about ideas, he somewhat naively infers.

Debut novelist Zia Haider Rahman is a true polymath and the novel showcases his ample talent effectively. It tells both Zafar and the narrator's stories, eventually focusing on Zafar alone. But as Zafar ruminates about an endless series of topics - from salamanders to Poggendorff's illusion, to why flags sometimes fly at half-mast and more, one begins to wonder whether Rahman is trying a little too hard to make this a dazzling debut. Zafar's digressions might be the product of a tortured soul, but one wishes that the author didn't indulge his every aside. In this sense, Light occasionally comes across as too strained and so much in love with its own brilliance that it almost becomes a distraction. Because the reader sometimes feels manipulated, it's occasionally hard to fully engage with the story.

Despite these issues, there are many flashes of brilliance, of truly inspired writing that make the journey worth it. In the end, Rahman emerges as a writer to watch and, equally, an expert on the way our past binds us irrevocably to our futures. We bring our histories to our worlds and our work, Rahman observes. Ignore this, the novel seems to say, at your own peril. Where Light ultimately shines is in giving us a perspective from the other side of the fence. "Everything seen by the West is seen through the West," Rahman writes. Here, then, is a chance to move beyond that limited field of vision. The resultant clarity is illuminating in more ways than one.

Reviewed by Poornima Apte

This review was originally published in May 2014, and has been updated for the February 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.