Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Red Now and Laters by Marcus J. Guillory

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Red Now and Laters

by Marcus J. Guillory

Red Now and Laters by Marcus J. Guillory X
Red Now and Laters by Marcus J. Guillory
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2014, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2015, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Morgan Macgregor
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Growing up in a rough neighborhood of Houston, a young black boy discovers the power of his Creole heritage in this visceral coming-of-age novel.

In an author's note, Marcus J. Guillory opens his debut novel with a personal revelation: he traces his heritage to the American Creoles, known for their powerful story-telling. Thus, he subtly implies, we are in good hands for the story to come. And we are.

Red Now and Laters is a gorgeous, visceral coming-of-age story about Ti'John (short for Petit John, fully John Paul Boudreaux Jr.), a young black boy descended from the Creoles. He is growing up on the gritty streets of South Park, Houston in the '70s and '80s. A once hopeful post-WWII development, South Park has "slammed its brakes and skidded violently into a telephone pole called 'progress.'" White flight and Reaganonomics have ensured that economic progress doesn't have much to do with Ti'John's life.

From an early age, Ti'John is exposed to the realities of urban blight, where addiction, violence, poverty, mental illness and death aren't cloistered away but out in the open, right on the street, and gunshots provide the backdrop for rides to school. The novel opens in 1977 with a flood, the streets filling up with "brown murky murk." A young mother loses her infant in the fast-moving current, setting the tone for a story that does not shy away from the brutality of life.

Being raised by a fearful, Catholic mother – "her immediate fear was the very neighborhood we lived in" – and a drinking, gambling, rodeo star father, Ti'John must learn to walk a delicate line. His mother's rules are simple and firm: behave, no hanging around with the neighborhood "hoodlums," be a good Catholic and an upstanding citizen. His father's are slightly more diffuse, and sometimes scary: be a man, learn to win, follow in your ancestors' footsteps. In the case of the latter, Ti'John will have to figure out what that means.

Ti'John's daily life is in one sense the stuff of all boys – learning to stand up to bullies; bartering in the schoolyard for the coveted red candies, Now and Laters; and trading his first kiss for a cassette tape of "Prince slow jams." The boy's life is also deeply mysterious. Who is the strange-looking man who always seems to show up in times of distress, and why doesn't anyone else seem to see him? Why does his father have a habit of hiding out and talking to himself? Is he crazy? Eventually, Ti'John's father will let him in on the secret the reader knows all along: the boy is a traiteur (the Creole word for "healer"), possessed of a gift for healing that his father also has. This fact, and the discovery of the identity of the strange-looking man, lend the novel a delicious bit of magical realism that doesn't seem in the least out of place.

With a luscious Louisiana Creole always percolating below the Southern-spiked black urban dialect, the language is as rich and textured as the landscape Guillory evokes, reminding one of Faulkner's famous line: "The past is never dead. It's not even past." The whole novel, in fact, can be read as an exploration of Faulkner's contention. Ti'John must learn to incorporate the past into his life, or else be haunted by it, in his case quite literally. Much as he might wish to turn a blind eye to the dark, violent, contentious history of his people and concentrate on running the block and "getting booty," Ti'John realizes early on that he must honor his heritage before he can make his own future.

Red Now and Laters closes with Ti'John (now Johnny) in his eighteenth year. Having watched him navigate the disparate forces in his life from age four, the reader can't help but say a reluctant goodbye after finishing this gorgeous novel. One can only hope that Guillory will feel inspired to check in with Johnny later in his life, and if he does, I'll be first in line at the bookstore.

Reviewed by Morgan Macgregor

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in May 2014, and has been updated for the March 2015 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Zydeco Music

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Red Now and Laters, try these:

  • My Sunshine Away jacket

    My Sunshine Away

    by M.O. Walsh

    Published 2016

    About this book

    More by this author

    Acutely wise and deeply honest, it is an astonishing and page-turning debut about the meaning of family, the power of memory, and our ability to forgive.

  • A Pleasure and a Calling jacket

    A Pleasure and a Calling

    by Phil Hogan

    Published 2016

    About this book

    In the tradition of Patricia Highsmith's Tom Ripley novels comes a deliciously unsettling tale of psychological suspense that delves into the mind of a man with a chilling double life.

We have 7 read-alikes for Red Now and Laters, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Cecilia
    by K-Ming Chang
    In the first few pages of K-Ming Chang's bizarre yet engrossing novella Cecilia, Seven, the ...
  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.