BookBrowse Reviews Frog Music by Emma Donoghue

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Frog Music

by Emma Donoghue

Frog Music
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2015, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Based on actual historical events, Frog Music brings nineteenth-century San Francisco vibrantly to life while telling a story about crafting new identities and beginnings.

Many readers first became familiar with Emma Donoghue through her much-lauded 2010 novel Room, a harrowing story heartbreakingly narrated by a five-year-old boy held captive for years, along with his mother, in a single room. For readers who know only that novel, Donoghue's latest, Frog Music, might seem like something of a departure. In fact, however, this historical mystery shares many characteristics with Donoghue's earlier works, including the historical novels Slammerkin and The Sealed Letter. Like those novels, Frog Music is exquisitely researched, and, like all Donoghue's work, beautifully written and thoroughly compelling.

As Donoghue reveals in the novel's afterword, Frog Music was inspired by a real-life murder that took place outside San Francisco in 1876, heavily covered by the sensational news media of the day. The victim was a woman known as Jenny Bonnet (or one of ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Smallpox and Xenophobia

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.