BookBrowse Reviews The Promise by Ann Weisgarber

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Promise

by Ann Weisgarber

The Promise
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2015, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judi Sauerbrey

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

The characters' lives in The Promise turn out to be just as stormy as the hurricane that rages all around them.

Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things great are wound up with all things little." In the midst of catastrophe, there are myriad personal stories that are unrecognized and, more often than not, remain unrecorded.

Take for example, the horrific loss of RMS Titanic in April 1912. In the 1997 blockbuster film, it is not the sinking per se that had most of us engaged, it was young Rose deWitt Bukater, the two men vying for her affections, and the machinations of her supremely conniving mother. The accident was tragic, of course, but viewers were more caught up in Rose's transformation and the unfolding of a pathway to an entirely new life.

Ann Weisgarber's novel, The Promise, rides on just such a premise. In this case the event is the Galveston, Texas hurricane of September 8-9, 1900, still classified by the National Oceanic ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Hurricane No-Name

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.