BookBrowse Reviews The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Good Luck of Right Now

by Matthew Quick

The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick X
The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2014, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2015, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


From New York Times best-selling author Matthew Quick comes The Good Luck of Right Now, a funny and tender story about family, friendship, grief, acceptance, and Richard Gere.

Matthew Quick's achingly delightful follow-up to The Silver Linings Playbook is an epistolary coming-of-age story about Bartholomew Neil, a 39-year-old naïf whose only attachment to normalcy - his sainted mother - has just abandoned him. Not her fault. She died of brain cancer. But Bartholomew was with her to the bitter, painful end. And now he's adrift, lost in a world that's not exactly set up to deal with socially stunted, unemployed midlifers. But it's gonna be (no spoilers here) okay, dear reader, because Mom has bequeathed him a house with mysteriously self-paying bills, a letter from movie star Richard Gere and a philosophy intended to mitigate life's ups and downs.

As long as we can suspend disbelief long enough to get an explanation for those self-paying bills, it's not an unreasonable stretch to accept the rest. First, Bartholomew discovers a form letter from movie star Richard Gere in his mother's underwear drawer. The letter urges Mrs. Neil to boycott the 2008 Olympics in China because of that country's position on Tibet and the Dalai Lama. She did of course. And so, based upon that letter, the countless hours she and Bartholomew logged watching Richard Gere's movies, and the actor's suave persona and his devout Buddhism, Neil initiates a one-sided correspondence with him. The letters serve as a clearinghouse for Bartholomew's confusion about his life, post-mother. Joblessness is something he is used to. Momlessness is frighteningly new. He needs all the help, real or imagined, he can get.

He writes, "I am wondering if Mom's boycott, her death, and my finding the letter you wrote her - maybe these things mean you and I are meant to be linked in some important cosmic way."

Besides the letters to the fantasized Gere, Bartholomew calls upon a variety of philosophies for guidance. Primary among them is Mrs. Neil's theory of the (eponymous) "Good Luck of Right Now." Roughly interpreted, this is the idea of balance in all things. A kind of cockeyed, homespun yin/yang. It goes like this: if something bad is happening to you, then something of equal good is happening to somebody else. And vice versa. Which fits neatly with Catholic - which the Neil's devoutly are - guilt. You see, Mrs. Neil always felt a little guilty when she had a streak of good luck because it meant...well, bad luck for someone else. For Bartholomew, this philosophy is interchangeable with the tenets of Catholicism, Buddhism and even Jung's notion of synchronicity. He falls back on whichever borrowed wisdom suits his immediate circumstance. Whatever, as they say, gets one through the night.

And it all works fairly well, mostly due to Bartholomew's naïveté. Because, although Quick never makes it explicit, my uneducated guess is that Bartholomew places somewhere in the very high-functioning end of autism spectrum disorder. Aspergers, maybe? He is fiercely well read and computer literate, but equally fiercely inept in the life skills department. Thus we ache for him, his grief and his loneliness. On the other hand, his makeshift (or make-do) methods of getting on with his life - including taking in a self-defrocked bipolar priest, intervening in his grief counselor's abusive relationship, befriending a cat telepath with possible (again, my diagnosis) Tourette's Syndrome - make him a delightful, endearing character.

Quick imbues his flawed characters with intense self-awareness. The priest, Father McNamee, knows he's bipolar and, while he doesn't relish his disability, he is willing to live with it, med free. "You know Jesus was most likely bipolar...what if Jesus had been medicated?" he says. Bartholomew has an "angry little man" inside him who calls him out cruelly when he commits a social faux pas. There's even a point when Bartholomew reflects on why it's okay - important even - for him and others like him to be "weird, strange, and unusual." He says, "The word normal would lose all of its meaning if it didn't have an opposite."

This sums up, I think, the point of both this novel and Silver Linings Playbook. The self-awareness, the humanness of these flawed but beautiful characters makes them just as important to the world as Type A overachievers and we ought to learn to appreciate them. This, plus Quick's lovely, sharp, funny prose, is what makes The Good Luck of Right Now a very worthwhile read.

Reviewed by Donna Chavez

This review was originally published in March 2014, and has been updated for the February 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Was Jesus Bipolar?

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.