BookBrowse Reviews The Book of Heaven by Patricia Storace

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Book of Heaven

by Patricia Storace

The Book of Heaven
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2014, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2014, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Patricia Storace brilliantly and radically reimagines the worlds of (mostly) Biblical women putting them in the foreground of their stories and of the Old Testament itself.

Patricia Storace's prose in The Book of Heaven is like a tinkling wind chime in a slight breeze. Like the flutter of butterfly wings that stir the fragrance of a coneflower, she writes lightly but with depth of thought that begs you to linger, ponder. Her creation of the heavens, designed with brand new cosmic constellations, (wo)manned by females who offer a look at the distaff side of the universe, may not be to everyone's taste - no book can suit everyone. But this is a must-read for its beautiful prose and for the opportunity to stop and ponder what the world might be like if viewed through the eyes of an "other." Specifically, with these stories - most Biblical in origin, of Eve (who narrates); Abraham's wife Sarah; the Queen of Sheba; Job's wife; and "Savour" a cook - we feel the weight of their responsibilities, their obligations within a culture they have not created.

Storace ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Constellations

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.