BookBrowse Reviews Belle Cora by Phillip Margulies

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Belle Cora

A Novel

by Phillip Margulies

Belle Cora
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2014, 608 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2014, 608 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Fans of sweeping historical fiction will find much to love in this debut novel that travels across time and place with a strong female protagonist at its helm.

Resonant of Margaret Mitchell's Scarlett O'Hara and Edith Wharton's Undine Spragg, Phillip Margulies's Belle Cora is a fascinating, scene-stealing protagonist, and his eponymous debut novel, a sweeping historical epic. Opening in 1820s New York, the story spans decades and states, as the narrative follows Belle's maturation from naive daughter of religious zealots to sought-after madam of San Francisco's foremost brothel.

Born into a family of austere New England Puritans, Belle learns early the value of self-reliance. When her beloved mother dies of tuberculosis, she and her brother Louis are removed to upstate New York to live with hardscrabble, devoutly religious relatives. The austerity of their earlier childhood is replaced by borderline abuse, as Belle and Louis's aunt and uncle try to transform them from privileged city dwellers to hardworking, devout farm people. The efforts ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Millerism

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.