BookBrowse Reviews Someone by Alice McDermott

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Someone

by Alice McDermott

Someone
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2014, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sharry Wright

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In distilled and measured prose, Alice McDermott's Someone reminds us that every life lived is a thing of beauty and that there is much to appreciate in the smallest of everyday rituals.

When I recommend a book that I enjoyed, one of the first questions people ask is: "What is it about?" I feel like I have about thirty seconds to make my case before they decide if they want to read it or not. Now if I were to tell you that I'd just read a very quiet book about the life of an ordinary woman where nothing very dramatic happens, I bet most of you would shake your head and skip to the next review. But wait. I know it might be hard to convince you that Alice McDermott's Someone is a worthwhile and rewarding read, but I'm going to try. Because it is.

Marie narrates her own story in first person, starting with her childhood and taking the reader through her unexceptional life, rendering the intricately observed details, the tasks and daily rituals—bathing, shopping at the deli, learning to bake bread, sharing family meals—with a rare, crystalline precision and in ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Your Brain on Literature

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.