BookBrowse Reviews The Cartographer of No Man's Land by P.S. Duffy

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Cartographer of No Man's Land

by P.S. Duffy

The Cartographer of No Man's Land
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2013, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2013, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

With gorgeous prose and an expert look at multiple weighty themes, this complex historical fiction debut is a fantastic and moving reading experience.

P.S. Duffy's debut, The Cartographer of No Man's Land, is a complex historical fiction novel set in war-torn France and in far-removed Nova Scotia during 1917-1918. The plot follows the struggles of sailor and artist Angus MacGrath as he enlists in the Canadian Expeditionary Force (see 'Beyond the Book'), primarily to determine the fate of his missing brother-in-law, a soldier who has disappeared in the fighting in France. It also tells the story of the family MacGrath has left behind: his pacifist father, a grieving wife, and, most important, his thirteen-year-old son Simon Peter, who becomes the novel's other focal point.

Duffy covers a lot of ground, touching on a wide range of themes. There are, of course, the subjects one would expect in a book set in WWI: the horror and chaos of trench warfare; heroism; senseless waste of life; and love between comrades. Duffy ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.