BookBrowse Reviews A Man of His Own by Susan Wilson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Man of His Own

by Susan Wilson

A Man of His Own
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2015, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Three people need healing in Susan Wilson's A Man of His Own and Pax, with his unconditional love and unwavering loyalty, is the dog who can help them.

Dog lovers are falling head over paws for A Man of His Own by Susan Wilson. It's a standout in the overcrowded field of animal books. 19 out of 21 BookBrowse readers gave it a rating of 4 or 5. Here are some reasons why this heart-wrenching World War II novel is a favorite:

Let me say right up front that I loved this book. Pax, an abandoned puppy, is the center of the story. Rick finds him. Pax then has to make room in his heart for Rick's wife Francesca. When Rick goes off to war (WWII) Pax is sent to war too, as part of the Dogs for Defense program (see Beyond the Book). He fights alongside Keller who has never known love until he meets Pax. After the war is over Keller reluctantly returns Pax to his owners. But Rick has been severely injured in the war and Francesca needs help caring for him, so Keller takes a job being Rick's caregiver. The chapters bounce between different ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Dogs for Defense

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.