BookBrowse Reviews Then We Take Berlin by John Lawton

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Then We Take Berlin

by John Lawton

Then We Take Berlin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2014, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


John Lawton's Then We Take Berlin is a meticulously researched historical thriller – a gripping story of espionage and war, and people caught up in the most tumultuous events of the twenty-first century.

Have you ever come late to a party thinking you missed most of the fun, only to find out that the best was yet to come? Well, I seem to have come late to John Lawton's party because this is the first book of his that I've read. And it is so good that I will now pick up his previous seven books, all part of the Frederick Troy series. What's more, I look forward to the next installment of this new series, about John Wilfred Holderness, aka Wilderness, aka Joe.

How do I know there will be another Wilderness book? Well, I don't want to get ahead of myself. It's enough just getting to know this brand new character in the annals of post World War II noir fiction. Wilderness is a compelling character, a self-described honest criminal. Most of the book comprises his extensive backstory, which is bookended by a plot about smuggling a person from East to West Berlin in 1963. This plot point is...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.