BookBrowse Reviews Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Five Days at Memorial

Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital

by Sheri Fink

Five Days at Memorial
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 432 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2016, 592 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Pulitzer Prize winner Sheri Fink's investigation of patient deaths at a New Orleans Memorial Hospital during Hurricane Katrina – and her suspenseful portrayal of the quest for truth and justice.

Winner of the BookBrowse 2013 Best Non-Fiction Award


There are nonfiction authors who spend years researching a subject and want all their research to be known, and so they dump it all in. Consequently, you, the reader, feel the weight of that, both on your head and on your time. Then there are nonfiction authors who have spent years researching a subject but have the rare gift of melding their findings so smoothly into the prose that you learn everything you possibly can without it feeling like your most despised chore.

Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter Sheri Fink sets up permanent residence in the latter camp, taking six years of research and investigation into the events that took place at Memorial Medical Center in New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina, and sculpting it into Five Days at Memorial, a narrative that keeps her Pulitzer Prize shining brightly and should put her in ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  New Orleans' Levees

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.