BookBrowse Reviews The Sound of Things Falling by Juan Gabriel Vásquez

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Sound of Things Falling

by Juan Gabriel Vásquez

The Sound of Things Falling
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2013, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2014, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

In The Sound of Things Falling Juan Gabriel Vásquez confronts the history of his home country, Colombia.

"No one who lives long enough can be surprised to find their biography has been molded by distant events, by other people's wills, with little or no participation from our own decisions," writes Colombian author Juan Gabriel Vasquez in The Sound of Things Falling. Indeed the novel is a meditation on the role that chance intersections play in our lives and the crushing impact that even one wrong (and seemingly innocuous) decision can have. It is also Vasquez's ode to his city of Bogota that was ravaged by the drug war during the 80s and 90s.

A small news item about a hippo having escaped from a zoo on the outskirts of Bogota triggers a cascading series of memories in Antonio Yamarra, a young law professor. He remembers frequenting a local bar and running into the enigmatic Ricardo Laverde, a self-described retired pilot. During their brief period of acquaintance, it is clear that ...

Additional Information
The Sound of Things Falling is the winner of the 2014 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Pablo Escobar and His Excesses

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.