BookBrowse Reviews Tumbledown by Robert Boswell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tumbledown

by Robert Boswell

Tumbledown by Robert Boswell X
Tumbledown by Robert Boswell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2013, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2014, 456 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This delightful novel reminds readers that the ability to build nurturing relationships is present in all people – no matter how fractured their personalities may be.

"Everybody, it seems, has to live in this tumbledown world, not just him. He isn't alone..." These thoughts, which occur to one of Robert Boswell's characters near the end of Tumbledown, sum up its theme (or at least the experience of reading the book) well. The story manages to wrest a kind of hopefulness from what could, in other contexts or in other hands, be a pretty bleak setup for a novel.

Tumbledown' s central character is thirty-something James Candler. A counselor at Onyx Springs, a treatment facility outside San Diego, he's on the verge of a big administrative promotion. Candler has been groomed for this position almost since his arrival – he now has the clothes, fancy car, and even the fiancée that, according to the outgoing director's definition of success, such a position requires.

No one's been watching Candler's rise as closely as Elizabeth (Lise) Ray. A former stripper and drug user, she had one therapy session with Candler years ago, and hasn't been able to get him out of her mind since then. She even went so far as to follow Candler—unbeknownst to him—to his new town in the San Diego suburbs, biding her time until she can engineer another meeting with him, this time of the romantic variety.

It doesn't take long for her to do so, but her timing isn't great. In just two weeks' time, Candler's fiancée is scheduled to move to the United States from the UK, where the two met. Lise is determined to make the most of the fourteen days, even as Candler grows more and more confused and conflicted about what (and whom) he really wants. Their interactions during this two-week period are interspersed with a heartbreaking incident from Candler's youth, specifically surrounding his older brother, who had (undiagnosed) autism. The juxtaposition of these two narrative threads is skillfully done, as is the novel's opening chapter, in which a present-day narrative intersects complexly but seamlessly with the story of Lise and Candler's shared past. Such ambitious story-telling is not easily accomplished—and could easily be overlooked or dismissed in a novel that is in many ways a comedy. But this skillful piecing together of plot lines—resulting in a whole even richer and more dynamic than the sum of its parts—is part of what makes Tumbledown such an exhilarating pleasure to read.

Lise and Candler's story is not the only one that readers will be drawn to in this sprawling, delightfully overstuffed novel. Readers also come to know Candler's old pal Billy Atlas and several of their clients, each of whom has landed at Onyx Springs for different reasons. There's Karly, a stunningly beautiful but mentally challenged young woman who seems to have no real understanding of her effect on men. There's Mick, hopelessly besotted with Karly and struggling to find a balance between his schizophrenic confusions and the occasionally even more debilitating haze brought on by his medication. There's Maura, the cynical teenager whose hard-as-nails exterior and troubled past belie her vulnerabilities and her own infatuation with Mick. And there's a handful of others, too, brought together daily for vocational training (see 'Beyond the Book').

These are people most of us don't encounter very often in daily life, let alone in fiction, and although Boswell does acknowledge the humor in some of their circumstances (Karly is a comically poor joke-teller, for example, and another seriously impaired man is a chronic masturbator), he ultimately portrays them with compassion and generosity, urging readers to do the same. These characters, whatever their faults or shortcomings, seek love, connection, and dignity, just like anyone else. Boswell's novel reminds us of the fragility of these kinds of connections but also of their vital necessity—it recognizes the imperfections of "this tumbledown world," while highlighting the power and potential of every person to seek beauty and find meaningful relationships with others.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review was originally published in September 2013, and has been updated for the September 2014 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Vocational Rehabilitation

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.