BookBrowse Reviews A Fort of Nine Towers by Qais Akbar Omar

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Fort of Nine Towers

An Afghan Family Story

by Qais Akbar Omar

A Fort of Nine Towers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2013, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2014, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This memoir by an Afghan yields precious insights into coming of age during some of the most tumultuous events in the country's recent history

Qais Akbar Omar's memoir, A Fort of Nine Towers, is a chronicle of the author's childhood and teen years in war-torn Afghanistan. He grew up during an especially turbulent time in the country's history – witnessing the departure of the occupying USSR troops; the ensuing civil war that inflicted incredible hardship on the population as warlords from the Mujahideen sought to fill the power vacuum; the subsequent takeover by the Taliban; and finally the Taliban's ouster by the foreign coalition formed after 9/11. Age seven at the beginning of the narrative, Omar relays how these disparate forces affected his life and the lives of friends and family over the following two decades.

Omar's writing is somewhat choppy and simplistic, underscoring the fact that English isn't the author's native language: "Just as night fell, the electricity suddenly went out. I looked outside. It was not ...

<>b>Additional Information
The author shares some pictures that are a best capture of the places mentioned in the book. They are worth checking out.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Afghanistan: Parsing the Players

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.