BookBrowse Reviews I'll Be Seeing You by Suzanne Hayes, Loretta Nyhan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

I'll Be Seeing You

by Suzanne Hayes, Loretta Nyhan

I'll Be Seeing You
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    May 2013, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A historical novel set during World War II, and written in letters, I'll Be Seeing You is a tribute to the power of friendship

Steady, calm Rita Vincenzo lives in Iowa and fills her days working in her garden, going to mass, and trying to appease her crotchety neighbor, Mrs. Kleinschmidt. Then there is impulsive and enthusiastic Glory Whitehall who lives a more privileged life in New England. Expecting her second child, she faces the challenges of mothering a rambunctious young boy and the knowledge that her mother-in-law finds her lacking.

A fortuitous pairing through Rita and Glory's involvement with each one's local 4-H society connects these two women with seemingly little in common. As the story progresses, they bond over letters. The women are looking for a diversion from their day-to-day lives, which are consumed missing and worrying about loved ones fighting in the war. Glory is aching for her young husband Robert, while Rita misses her husband Sal, who she believes is too old to have ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.