Rationing and Victory Gardens During World War II: Background information when reading I'll Be Seeing You

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

I'll Be Seeing You

by Suzanne Hayes, Loretta Nyhan

I'll Be Seeing You by Suzanne Hayes, Loretta Nyhan X
I'll Be Seeing You by Suzanne Hayes, Loretta Nyhan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    May 2013, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Rationing and Victory Gardens During World War II

Print Review

In the novel I'll Be Seeing You, Glory and Rita bond over their daily experiences trying to live a fulfilling life in the midst of wartime worry and hardship. The two women live far apart - one in Iowa, and the other in New England. In their letters to each other, they share tips for growing a decent Victory Garden as well as recipes that work with rationed supplies.

In 1942, the United States began nationwide rationing of items such as sugar, coffee, meat, cheese, tires, gasoline and even farm equipment. Some of these items were scarce because they'd previously been imported from countries now at war with the United States. Other items were needed to keep the soldiers and sailors well-equipped for their battles.

Ration books distributed to individuals and families dictated the quantities one could buy. The various items still needed to be paid for, but could not be purchased without the proper stamps. The goal was equity; in hopes that every family would be able to obtain their fair share of the coveted goods while being able to properly provide for the military members fighting overseas. Across the country, 8000 boards were created to implement and monitor these rations. Recycling of materials such as aluminum, iron, steel, tin, and paper encouraged everyone to contribute to the war effort in some way. The discomforts created served as a daily reminder that the country was at war. It created a strong sense of patriotism and unity between neighbors.

Victory Gardens Propaganda The government encouraged citizens to plant personal "Victory Gardens" on their own land or in planter boxes in order to support the war effort. These gardens supplemented ration allowances with homegrown produce, and because of transportation shortages, people ate locally grown vegetables. Swiss chard and kohlrabi were brought to the American dinner table since they were easy to grow. The program was a great success. The U.S. Department of Agriculture estimated that more than 20 million victory gardens were planted during the war. Fruit and vegetables harvested in these home and community plots was estimated to be 9-10 million tons - equal to the amount of commercial production at the time. This also meant more canned foods could be sent to feed the military.

I was quite tempted to try some of the recipes designed to work around limited amounts of sugar and butter and other ingredients. Here are some recipes included in the General Foods Corporation Cookbook created in 1943.

The video on this PBS website describes the rationing and recycling detail really well. The National World War II museum website has some great related pictures that are worth checking out.

Picture from Livinghistoryfarm.com

Article by Sarah Tomp

This article is from the July 24, 2013 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.