We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Schroder by Amity Gaige

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Schroder

by Amity Gaige

Schroder by Amity Gaige X
Schroder by Amity Gaige
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2013, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2013, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Schroder is a lyrical and deeply affecting novel recounting the seven days a father spends on the road with his daughter after kidnapping her during a parental visit.

Having read Amity Gaige's previous two books, I anticipated the beauty of her latest novel, Schroder. What I didn't anticipate was the weightiness of it, her ability to take the slightest moments and the lightest phrases and mold them into matters of great consequence. I also enjoyed Gaige's more substantial plot: this novel, though still quite literary, has the suspense and forward action that were sometimes lacking in her previous two books.

The title, with a bit of irony, refers to the main character, father to six-year-old Meadow, a man living under the alias Eric Kennedy. Not long after his childhood arrival in the United States with his father, Erik Schroder decides to shed his German skin, his German history, and most obviously, his German name to become an American - and not just any American, an American with a most enviable last name. Eric's fantasy life quickly becomes his reality. The altered past he dreams of is so real that it seems to fill in his backstory automatically, all too easily erasing the pain of being separated from his mother and his discomfort with his blatantly foreign father. As happens so often in life, things change when Eric falls in love. He carries his fraud too far and marries a woman named Laura, lending his false last name to her and soon after to his daughter.

All is well for a while and Eric even begins to revel in his new role as stay-at-home dad during Meadow's third year. But when marital trouble creeps into the family and divorce comes, Eric begins to lose both his battle with his identity and his desperate fight to maintain access to his daughter. Then one day in the heat of a custody dispute turned nasty, Eric does what comes naturally, but certainly not logically - he turns a parental visit into a wild, seven-day road trip with his daughter, an act of kidnapping that eventually exposes him as Erik Schroder and drastically affects his relationship with his beloved daughter. When his assumed name – and life – are discovered, what started as a childish coping method turns into evidence of his perceived unfitness as a parent. Even though the factual German immigrant Erik Schroder feels to him much less like his true self than the fabricated American Eric Kennedy, the rest of the world cannot help but assign more sinister motives for his double life.

Schroder is written in the form of Eric's confession, complete with his sometimes discursive footnotes. Gaige's choice to tell the story entirely in his voice makes for interesting reading. He is the quintessential unreliable narrator and, as such, the reader is left, at times, to deduce whether he is leaving parts out or exaggerating others. And this confession is addressed directly to his wife, which we also must assume colors his words. This singular, distressed narrator is most convincing, however, when his words turn to Meadow and her part in the convoluted trip. Eric seems most truthful when he recounts his daughter's reactions to events and people, and here Gaige's elegant prose shines in Eric's eccentric and hyper-intellectual mind as he describes this daughter that he adores and craves. While the narrative is structured around the seven days father and daughter share on the run, Eric uses this record of the recent past to also reveal his full history to his wife.

Schroder is a book that will appeal to lovers of quiet fiction, to readers who appreciate beautiful prose and don't require brisk action to keep them turning pages. Gaige's lyrical, literary style still places her in this broad category, though this novel is certainly the most active of her three. This story will particularly resonate with parent readers, people like me who wonder every day if they are doing okay as a mom or dad, who struggle and rejoice in the most significant of responsibilities. Eric's questionable choices are laid out for us to see, yet it is doubtful that many will question his love for Meadow. Though his devotion devolves into selfishness, readers will recognize a father's intense love as it has been crafted in Gaige's subtle literary beauty.

Reviewed by Stacey Brownlie

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2013, and has been updated for the October 2013 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Schroder, try these:

  • The End of the Point jacket

    The End of the Point

    by Elizabeth Graver

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More by this author

    A precisely observed, superbly crafted novel, The End of the Point by Elizabeth Graver charts the dramatic changes in the lives of three generations of one remarkable family, and the summer place that both shelters and isolates them.

  • Tell the Wolves I'm Home jacket

    Tell the Wolves I'm Home

    by Carol Rifka Brunt

    Published 2013

    About this book

    In this striking literary debut, Carol Rifka Brunt unfolds a moving story of love, grief, and renewal as two lonely people become the unlikeliest of friends and find that sometimes you don't know you've lost someone until you've found them.

We have 5 read-alikes for Schroder, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Amity Gaige
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.