BookBrowse Reviews Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Me Before You

A Novel

by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2012, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2013, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Simply reading the jacket copy of Jojo Moyes's second novel might give readers the impression that it is a kind of romance novel, but Me Before You is, in fact, so much more.

Simply reading the jacket copy of Moyes's second novel might give readers the impression that Me Before You is a traditional "opposites attract" kind of romance novel, the kind of story that proves that love conquers all, even in the most extreme circumstances. Although on one level that may be true, Me Before You is, in fact, so much more. It's a story about personal redemption and self-worth, about finding courage, about knowing what to hold onto and what to let go. It's also a meditation on one of the most controversial and divisive issues of our times. And, lest you think that the novel is merely an inspirational fable or a "problem novel," rest assured that it's also a beautifully and smartly written literary work, full of lovely phrases, complicated characters, and compelling situations.

When we first meet Louisa Clark, known as "Lou," she seems to have settled into a predictable pattern. At age twenty-six she still lives at home with her parents and her relationship with her boyfriend seems to have settled into familiarity – or could it be stagnation? She's never had much in the way of ambition – her only real gesture toward originality is her unconventional, adventurous fashion sense. But Lou is about to be shaken out of her complacency when she loses her job at the local bakery.

It's 2009, the height of the recession, and Lou's family is relying on her to bring in an income, especially since her dad's job is far from secure. So against her better judgment, Lou applies to be a caregiver for a wealthy quadriplegic man. Much to her surprise, she is offered the job. Even more to her surprise, the middle-aged woman who interviews her is not the man's daughter or wife – she's his mother. Will Traynor is just thirty-five but has been confined to a wheelchair for two years, ever since an accident left him with an inoperable spinal cord injury.

Will seems to despise Lou when they first meet, and she feels the same. He is incredibly rude and, more than that, he rejects her. Over time, however, Lou sees beneath Will's gruff demeanor and beyond his injury, and the two form an increasingly tender friendship. But it's a bittersweet one as well, as Lou soon discovers Will's true intentions – to seek suicide rather than to endure decades in a wheelchair – and takes it upon herself to set him on a different path during the short time they may have together.

Me Before You is simultaneously whimsical (the descriptions of Lou's wardrobe are particularly delightful) and romantic. It is also intensely serious, as it compels readers to consider powerful questions about freedom, choice, and the value of human life. Both Will's and Lou's choices can, and likely will be, debated and discussed by anyone who reads their story – and the novel's surprisingly uplifting conclusion is bound to prompt more than a few tears.

Moyes's novel will appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Marian Keyes, as well as readers who appreciate a thoughtful engagement with real-world issues, nestled in a superbly told story.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review was originally published in January 2013, and has been updated for the July 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Dignitas

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Wonderful Feels Like This
    Wonderful Feels Like This
    by Sara Lovestam
    High school is hard; or perhaps, more accurately, growing up and finding oneself is hard. This is ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Light Yokohama
    Blue Light Yokohama
    by Nicolas Obregon
    Blue Light Yokohama, Nicolás Obregón's crime fiction debut, takes place in an exotic ...
  • Book Jacket: Inferno
    Inferno
    by Steven Hatch
    The word "Ebola" sets off an almost visceral reaction in many of us; we think about the men, women ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book of Summer
    by Michelle Gable

    The bestselling author of The Paris Apartment, Michelle Gable now transports readers to Nantucket.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -