Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews Blasphemy by Sherman Alexie

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Blasphemy

New and Selected Stories

by Sherman Alexie

Blasphemy by Sherman Alexie X
Blasphemy by Sherman Alexie
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2012, 480 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2013, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elizabeth Whitmore Funk
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A variety of short stories from Sherman Alexie shows his enormous range and serves as a great introduction to this native American author.

I first heard of Sherman Alexie years ago, in college when a fellow undergraduate completed an independent study on his work. This was in the heyday of Ten Little Indians, before the success of Alexie's young adult novel The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. I read Ten Little Indians with pleasure, and then the dark mystery, Indian Killer, but I wasn't consumed with the Sherman Alexie fever that plagued my classmate. Today, Alexie is known as a Native American writer who writes poetry, YA novels, short stories and adult fiction with his trademark laugh-out-loud humor and deft handling of controversial issues surrounding race, sex, violence, and substance abuse. Blasphemy demonstrates the range of his talent, and has made me a late inductee to the Alexie fan brigade. The collection contains both established Alexie favorites, such as "The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven" and "What You Pawn I Will Redeem" and also new, previously unpublished work. It has made me fall in love with Alexie's stories not because it offers anything different from the "rez boy" stories that he has become known for, but because I now see how his writing is simultaneously diverse and focused.

In his stories Alexie speaks through child narrators, suburban middle-class men, middle-aged women, college boys, impoverished blue-collar workers, insomniacs, criminals and bystanders. All the elements that are often associated with Alexie are here: the aloof schoolboy narrator; the stories built around basketball games; the drunken accidents; the white-skinned Indians struggling with acceptance. There is also branching off into new territory: brief, "flash fiction" style shorts that take up no more than two pages; the occasional story that is told from a third-person narration rather than the first person (of which Alexie is a master); and a story that takes place in New York rather than his familiar western landscape. There are mentions of viral videos, President Obama, and Iraq war veterans. The implication is clear: Blasphemy is work from a writer who is not only a longstanding member of contemporary American literature, but also one who is going to remain relevant and engaged for years to come.

The title shows us that this collection speaks to the subtle ways that language shifts lives and personalities. Blasphemy's opening story, "Cry Cry Cry" establishes this early on when the narrator says that things "stop being sacred when you talk blasphemy about them." Many of Alexie's characters live in this world where their reality is chosen, made by the words and actions they use: in "Breaking and Entering" a protagonist's split-second reaction forever alters his life, and in "Scars" three little words are forever etched into the motives of a convict. In these stories, blasphemy - whether in language or action - becomes a multi-layered issue that is not simply vulgar, but tied to feelings of ambition, love, loneliness, anger, and kindness. Alexie has spoken about the importance of writing young adult novels that do not shy away from the reality that many teenagers face, and in Blasphemy he continues to show the value of witnessing both the sacred and the profane. Violence and comedy are smashed together in "The Approximate Size of My Favorite Tumor;" loneliness and companionship get combined in "The Toughest Indian in the World;" and the pulls of poverty and erudition come together in "Do You Know Where I Am?" Alexie's talent for blending qualities that normally repel each other is not new, but in Blasphemy it is carefully curated so readers can experience the power of such combinations. The 31 stories in this collection would make a wonderful introduction to Alexie's work, but they also make for an absorbing way to fall in love all over again with his humorous, tragic world.

Additional Information

For a conversation with Sherman Alexie, click on the video below recorded in 2009 by BigThink.com:



This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in October 2012, and has been updated for the October 2013 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Blasphemy, try these:

  • Tenth of December jacket

    Tenth of December

    by George Saunders

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More by this author

    One of the most important and blazingly original writers of his generation, George Saunders is an undisputed master of the short story, and Tenth of December is his most honest, accessible, and moving collection yet.

  • The Round House jacket

    The Round House

    by Louise Erdrich

    Published 2013

    About this book

    More by this author

    An exquisitely told story of a boy on the cusp of manhood who seeks justice and understanding in the wake of a terrible crime that upends and forever transforms his family.

We have 7 read-alikes for Blasphemy, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Sherman Alexie
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...
  • Book Jacket: Craft
    Craft
    by Ananda Lima
    You may have heard about books that are letters to God, but what about books that are letters to the...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.