BookBrowse Reviews This Is How It Ends by Kathleen MacMahon

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

This Is How It Ends

A Novel

by Kathleen MacMahon

This Is How It Ends by Kathleen MacMahon X
This Is How It Ends by Kathleen MacMahon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Aug 2012, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Bruno, an American, has come to Ireland to search for his roots. Addie, an out-of-work architect, is recovering from heartbreak while taking care of her infirm father. This Is How It Ends. A story you will never forget.

Make no mistake about it: those looking for sweeping, grandiose plots or white-knuckled suspense should probably look elsewhere than This Is How It Ends, set in Dublin, Ireland in 2008. MacMahon's debut novel, however, is just about perfect for a quiet read, perhaps wrapped in a sweater and holding a mug of tea on one of the first cool evenings of fall.

It's a quiet novel, after all, one that never shouts its themes or pounds its chest to call attention to itself; readers who settle in to its ambling pace will be rewarded with a carefully crafted, understated emotional novel about love, families, and coming to terms with even the most profound losses.

Addie occupies the grand narrative at the center of MacMahon’s novel. A woman who looks and even feels young, she is nevertheless starting to cope with the challenges – aging parents, envy over her sisters’ fecundity, loneliness and regret – of early middle age. And she has all but given up on romantic happiness. She's been deeply wounded before, not so long ago, and these days she contents herself with a circumscribed life that offers such quiet pleasures as swimming in the nearby surf, playing with her dog, and caring for her crotchety, ailing father. Although Addie is on the verge of countless unexpected changes, finding love is not something she would ever have foreseen in her immediate future.

Addie is hardly alone; virtually every character also occupies a transitional space, passing from one state to another, coping with endings of one sort or another. Addie's father, Hugh, is coping with the frailties of incipient old age and the knowledge that, thanks to a malpractice suit, he’s unlikely ever to return to his love – practicing medicine. Addie's love interest, Bruno, an American who has come to Ireland in search of his roots, is coming to terms with the loss of his job and his identity, as well as the desire to find a family and take one more crack at making one of his own. Addie's sister, Della, always thought Addie would be there to intervene between Della and their father. But once tragedy strikes, Della, whose hands-off parenting style compensates for the responsibilities she took on much earlier in life, must now acknowledge that this new and sudden loss will also result in new responsibilities for herself and for her family. Then there is the most profound loss of all that is at the center of Addie's story.

What MacMahon sets against this series of losses, however is an equally powerful series of small, hopeful moments, passages of great simplicity and beauty. "When she turned back to the window the view had disappeared," MacMahon writes of Addie and Bruno's bittersweet honeymoon. "All you could see was thick white cloud across everything, like a curtain. You could hear the sea, you knew it was there. You just couldn't see it."

These subtle moments, combined with MacMahon's matter-of-fact tone, illustrate not only that life goes on but that powerful dramas happen all the time, all around us, in families like Addie's and in our own. In the end, that is the overarching message of MacMahon's novel: Death happens, loss happens, tragedy happens every moment, all around us - but so does life. Filled with adorably winsome children and some of the best writing about dogs you'll come across, This Is How It Ends is a refreshingly honest approach to loss which will make readers eager to celebrate all that they hold dear.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review is from the September 5, 2012 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Obama in Europe

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.