We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Long Walk by Brian Castner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Long Walk

A Story of War and the Life That Follows

by Brian Castner

The Long Walk by Brian Castner X
The Long Walk by Brian Castner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2012, 240 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2013, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A powerful account of war and homecoming that grabs readers by the throat even as it touches their hearts

Brian CastnerBrian Castner graduated from Marquette University with an Engineering degree in 1999 and promptly joined the Air Force. He was placed in what he refers to as the "step-child of Air Force civil engineering: Disaster Preparedness," but found he had little interest in or talent for the assignment. One day, several months after 9/11, he was invited to a mystery meeting which turned out to be on dismantling a bomb. "I sat in silent rapture," he writes. "Now I knew what I wanted to be when I grew up, and I would make the Air Force let me do it." And with that he began a journey that would impact, and continues to impact, every aspect of his life. He went on to serve three tours of duty in the Middle East, two as the commander of an Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) unit in Iraq. The Long Walk: A Story of War and the Life That Follows is Castner's account of his harrowing military career and his struggle to adjust to civilian life after his discharge.

Castner experienced brain damage from the repeated blast waves he endured which subtly tore his brain's nerve endings. This type of injury is increasingly common among returning soldiers and can be difficult to diagnose. Those affected react differently, depending on the area of the brain that has been damaged; Castner refers to his symptoms as "The Crazy": an unrelenting and intolerable sense of stress and tension he's experienced since returning from Iraq in September, 2007. He relates the day he snapped:

"Months pass, but then you have that day. Everyone has a day. My day was walking with my aunt through the Pearl District on the west side of Portland, Oregon. I stepped off the curb normal. When my right foot hit the pavement I was Crazy.

That odd combination of twinges, the unspecific aches, the random symptoms that sent you to the doctor over the years, suddenly combine in one overwhelming explosion. My chest flooded with emotional helium. It filled with an oppressive, overpowering distraction that pushed every rational thought from my head. Arm to arm, shoulder to shoulder, gut to neck, I blew up like a balloon. Not with pain, but with unnamable discomfort, a feeling - what feeling? - that demanded attention."

He goes on to describe the devastation The Crazy continually wreaks on his life. He'll see an individual in an airport, become convinced that person is a terrorist, and will then go on to fantasize how many people he'd have to kill - which specific individuals and in what order - to get to the perceived threat. He thinks about how best to conceal a gun in his car to protect his family and spends nights at the top of the stairs, rifle in hand, to keep his four children safe. He cries at odd times; even helping his son into his hockey uniform can reduce him to tears since it's so similar to the bomb suit the technicians wear for the "Long Walk" (the bomb disposal option of last resort, when remotely controlled robots have failed and an individual must go out alone to defuse a bomb by hand).

Castner vividly captures his emotional pain and confusion in prose that sometimes borders on the poetic; his style is unpolished and raw, yet surprisingly affective.

"I died in Iraq. The old me left for Iraq and never came home. The man my wife married never came home. The father of my oldest three children never came home. If I didn't die, I don't know what else to call it.

I liked the old me, the one who played guitar, and laughed at dumb movies, and loved to read for days on end. That me died from a thousand blasts, died covered in children's blood, died staring down my rifle barrel the first time I put a helpless woman in the crosshairs and my finger on the trigger. That me is gone.

The new me is frantic and can't sit still. The new me didn't laugh for a year. The new me cries while reading bedtime stories to my children. The new me plans to die tomorrow. The new me runs almost every day, runs til knees buckle and fail. The new me takes his rifle everywhere. The new me is on fast forward. The new me is Crazy."

One criticism I've read of The Long Walk is that it can be difficult to tell whether what's on the page reflects the past, present, or something only occurring in Castner's mind, as he flows seamlessly from one event to the next. Personally, I found this added to the authenticity of this memoir, allowing me to better experience the way his mind works - his memory casting him back to Iraq with no warning or knowledge of what might trigger the flashback. When talking about his experiences in Iraq he's surprisingly candid about his actions and reactions. He is unsparingly matter-of-fact when describing events that continue to haunt him, such as ordering a soldier to kill an Iraqi thought to be a bomber, wanting to open fire on a group of women to make them stop screaming, and finding a dismembered foot in a cardboard box which caused him to break down in hysterical laughter. One truly gets a feel for the pressure he and his team were under as they scouted for bombs, disabled IEDs, and - worst of all - performed forensics when they arrived after a detonation. These sections are more straightforward and less self-analytical, although they still vividly convey the horror and confusion he and others experienced day after day.

"The Iraqi Police who arrived before us made no pretense of holding back the crowds, swelled and frantic, pouring over the scene, collecting pieces of loved ones and already mourning the dead. What evidence could we possibly find in the chaos? My frustration grew as the shell of the suicide bomber's car was loaded on a tow truck bed before we had a chance to examine it. Iraqi Policemen brought us arms and hands, gesturing and talking hysterically, but with no Terp around we understood little. The colonel himself had already left, to the main police station to plan a reprisal against the Arab faction that produced the suicide bombers. And through it all, the women never stopped screaming, never stopped chanting, never stopped their piercing clamor."

The Long Walk is a scathingly honest portrayal of the stress of war, the depth of loss soldiers experience and the immense challenges many of our returning veterans face every day. It should be required reading for anyone considering a military career, and is a must-read for those seeking to better understand the ultimate costs of war paid by the men and women who wage it for us (and by the families who stand beside them). It's sure to become a classic of wartime literature.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in August 2012, and has been updated for the April 2013 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Improvised Explosive Devices

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Long Walk, try these:

  • Waiting for Eden jacket

    Waiting for Eden

    by Elliot Ackerman

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the National Book Award finalist, a breathtakingly spare and shattering new novel that traces the intersection of three star-crossed lives.

  • Eat the Apple jacket

    Eat the Apple

    by Matt Young

    Published 2019

    About this book

    "The Iliad of the Iraq war" (Tim Weiner) - a gut-wrenching, beautiful memoir of the consequences of war on the psyche of a young man.

We have 13 read-alikes for The Long Walk, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Brian Castner
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...
  • Book Jacket: The Frozen River
    The Frozen River
    by Ariel Lawhon
    "I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.