Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Neruda Case by Roberto Ampuero

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Neruda Case

A Novel

by Roberto Ampuero

The Neruda Case by Roberto Ampuero X
The Neruda Case by Roberto Ampuero
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2012, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2013, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A glimpse into the life of Pablo Neruda and a political mystery, set in 1970s Chile

Does poetry alone provide enough sustenance to feed the soul? Of what value is a life spent creating beautiful art without a true companion to share it with or someone to pass it on to? Fundamental existential questions may concern most of us at some time or other, but these questions haunt the great Chilean poet Pablo Neruda's last days. Set in the waning era of the Allende socialist experiment, The Neruda Case has the Nobel Laureate's ghost looming large on every page.

As the book opens, Neruda is host to a lively party at his beautiful house in Valparaíso. It is here that he meets Cayetano Brulé, an unemployed, wannabe detective. A Cuban immigrant to Chile, Cayetano has followed his lovely Chilean wife back to Valparaíso after she decides to become actively involved in her country's politics. Even though Cayetano is only just getting into the private eye business, Neruda's gut instinct tells him that Cayetano will help him find a link to something he's been missing in his life. His body slowly being eaten away by cancer, Neruda requests that the detective help track down an oncologist Neruda once knew in Mexico City. This oncologist, Angel Bracamonte, researched plant-based cures for cancer and Cayetano assumes Neruda is looking for one last chance at a cure for his disease.

As it turns out, Neruda is after something more elemental and personal - he is looking to connect with someone who just might be his daughter; Neruda and Bracamonte's wife had had a brief affair years earlier, which, he is told, may have resulted in a child. But due to inner failings, Neruda had rejected the claim. Now, years later, he is consumed by regret and wants to make peace with his daughter. To reach her though, Cayetano has to first track down the mother, and she proves to be an elusive target. Mexico City leads him to Cuba, then to East Germany and finally, Bolivia, before answers can be found. In each country, Cayetano absorbs the local flavor and moves his case forward with the help of local friends.

Even though The Neruda Case is painted as a mystery, there isn't much of one - or at least not much of a strong one. As Cayetano moves from one city to the next, it seems like his chase gets increasingly futile, and after a while, the reader might be forgiven for leaving the mystery trail cold and focusing instead on the element of travel. Roberto Ampuero is a very successful author, and this is his first book to be translated into English (by the equally talented author, Carolina de Robertis). He does a fantastic job with the settings; the descriptions of each city and place are gorgeous and are the highlight of the novel.

One of the other treasures of the book is an essay by the author in which he describes his childhood in Valparaíso, the "Jewel of the Pacific," growing up in Neruda's shadow. The book is the author's own homage to Chile's national treasure. "I strove to portray the Neruda of flesh and blood, the real human being with his grandeur and meanness, loyalties and betrayals, certainties and doubts, the poet who could love passionately and at the same time leave everything to embark on a new affair," Ampuero writes. This book achieves that objective beautifully - Neruda certainly comes through as a talented poet, but also as a real human being with failings and frailties. Ampuero shines a spotlight on Neruda's many affairs (each chapter of the book is named after one of his lovers), and the result is not pretty.

The story is set against the events of 1973 Chile when Allende's socialist years come to an end and are taken over by the brutal military commander and dictator, Augusto Pinochet. It is an interesting juxtaposition in which Neruda's accelerating decay, the mystery's final reveals, and the ultimate overthrow all come on the heels of one another in the final chapters of the book.

The Neruda Case is a fun summer book, a great introduction to the work of a beloved Chilean author, and is worth picking up for the terrific atmosphere alone. At a time when "staycation" has become a buzzword, The Neruda Case is the best kind of armchair travel there is. Ampuero's breezy read is an absolute winner. Mix yourself a pisco sour and dive right in.

To see images of the various locales mentioned in The Neruda Case, check out my Pinterest board.

Reviewed by Poornima Apte

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2012, and has been updated for the June 2013 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Pablo Neruda and Politics

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Neruda Case, try these:

  • The Berlin Exchange jacket

    The Berlin Exchange

    by Joseph Kanon

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    From "master of the genre" (the Washington Post) Joseph Kanon, an espionage thriller set at the height of the Cold War, when a captured American who has spied for the KGB is swapped by the British and returns to East Berlin needing to know who arranged his release and what they want from him.

  • At Night We Walk in Circles jacket

    At Night We Walk in Circles

    by Daniel Alarcon

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More by this author

    The breakout book from a prizewinning young writer: a breathtaking, suspenseful story of one man's obsessive search to find the truth of another man's downfall.

We have 8 read-alikes for The Neruda Case, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...
  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.