Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Names of Things by John Colman Wood

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Names of Things

by John Colman Wood

The Names of Things by John Colman Wood X
The Names of Things by John Colman Wood
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Apr 2012, 276 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An elegiac story about coping with loss, set in the Kenyan desert

John Colman Wood's fieldwork on the Gabra nomads of the Chalbi Desert (see "beyond the book") - particularly his knowledge of their death rites - forms the foundation for the anthropologist's first novel, The Names of Things.

Like the author, the novel's protagonist (never identified beyond "he") is also an anthropologist who has studied the Gabra. The plot traces his reflections as he returns to the desert looking for solace following the death of his wife from an unnamed disease she contracted in the Kenyan outback. The book is an exploration of grief, love, and the roles ritual and community can play in coping with overwhelming loss.

The Names of Things is a beautifully written book permeated with a sense of sadness and regret, set against the backdrop of the desolate Kenyan landscape. There are two main reasons why I find myself recommending this novel. First, the author's ability to vividly describe a setting is among the finest I've encountered. It takes a great deal of skill to pull readers into an unfamiliar landscape and make them feel like they've truly been there -- and Wood has that talent in abundance. The Names of Things is a feast for all the senses; the author describes not only the sights of Kenya but the sounds, smells and feel of the place as well.

Even before they reached Abudo's camp it was too dark to see, and he kept the path by following the camels' silhouettes against the stars. All day the windblown sand had chafed his skin. His neck and arms and calves prickled with sunburn. His feet, which had taken a beating on the rocks, ached...He cursed himself for coming...Then he heard the camp noises. Faint, windblown sounds. Clatter of pots. Wooden camel bells. Tinny voices of women and children, like old songs on the radio. He smelled wood smoke and dust and the musky odors of large animals.

Second, while Wood maintains in his afterword that The Names of Things is fictional, the story feels intensely real and personal. In fact, his descriptions of how the book's main character cared for his dying wife, and of his subsequent grief are painted with so fine a brush that it's difficult to believe that the story is not based on personal experience. Strong emotion is rarely a part of my reading experience, but I found myself deeply affected by the visceral nature of the protagonist's grief. The fact that a reader could care so much about an unnamed character is a strong testament to the exceptional quality of the author's prose.

In spite of the author's clipped writing style, the novel is not a quick read. The overall tone is elegiac and reflective as the main character revisits times spent with his wife and comes to terms with her death. So much of the narrative revolves around the past that there's not a lot of forward momentum to the story. Also, the vivid descriptions demand to be savored; you simply can't rush through them and enjoy this novel.

Readers should be aware that this is not an upbeat story; one never gets the sense that the main character has achieved a sense of peace. Not every book needs to have a happy ending of course, but there are no answers here, no neat wrap-up, and those who prefer tidy, optimistic conclusions may find the plot somewhat frustrating.

That said, readers who relish contemplative, open-ended literature and those who enjoy novels simply for the quality of an author's prose will want to put The Names of Things on their lists; Wood's first effort is both brilliantly written and genuinely moving. Book groups in particular will find much fuel for discussion here, and those looking for a book with some depth will want to pick up a copy of this fine debut novel.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review first ran in the July 25, 2012 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Gabra People

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Names of Things, try these:

We have 5 read-alikes for The Names of Things, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.