BookBrowse Reviews Mission to Paris by Alan Furst

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mission to Paris

A Novel

by Alan Furst

Mission to Paris by Alan Furst
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2012, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2013, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Rigby

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In 1938 Europe, a Hollywood movie star-turned-spy braves the ominous environs of the Third Reich

Known for writing spy novels based in Europe during the '30s and '40s, Alan Furst has remarked, "In that period of time, there was real villainy and real heroism. The world was embroiled in it, and it didn't let anyone off the hook." In Mission to Paris, he returns to the cities and themes that have often figured in his work, combining movie-making with fictional actor Frederic Stahl's dabble in espionage - an unexpected task that leads the Viennese-born Paramount star to glimpse Kristallnacht, among other disturbing events, and to mingle with characters that range from an accomplished female spy to intellectual émigrés.

Stahl, who has been targeted by Nazi officials for the likelihood of his drawing the media in France, gathers information regarding Germany's impending plans in Europe (Poland especially) that may prove useful to the White House. Specifics remain shadowy; even Stahl is not entirely aware of what these plans entail despite several meetings with the embassy contact who first proposed the work. For most readers, however, behind-the-scenes political maneuverings may be less critical to the plot than the cumulative tension of living under surveillance. Furst brilliantly recreates the ominous environs, describing Paris, Berlin, and other locales just before the appeasement of Hitler via the Munich Agreement in September 1938 through the outbreak of the war. Between the risks of border-crossing, one character's struggle with the Gestapo, murder, and street disturbances, Mission to Paris is rife with examples of the strain both ordinary and high-profile people endured.

Furst shuttles between two narrative threads - shooting a film plagued by problems and working undercover - in ways that effectively highlight the challenges of moving freely. That both acting and spying require similar talents, from dissembling emotions to persuading others, is not only clever but necessary. Both plot lines meld when Stahl is coerced into serving as a judge for a German film festival, during which time the mindset of the German officials he encounters becomes ever more apparent and disturbing.

Not every plot twist is dark, however. Interludes befitting of Golden Era films weave throughout, replete with witty banter as well as heroic gestures. And one can hardly fault the author for creating a romantic oasis amid an increasingly suspect world. The result is an engrossing examination of one man's willingness to brave the Third Reich's cinema circle and a portrayal of weathering danger for the sake of others.

Reviewed by Karen Rigby

This review was originally published in July 2012, and has been updated for the June 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Parisian Highlights

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Great literature cannot grow from a neglected or impoverished soil...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.