We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Virgin Cure

A Novel

by Ami McKay

The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay X
The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2012, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2013, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer Dawson Oakes
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A novel about a girl who struggles for her independence in the tenements of lower Manhattan in 1871

Historical fiction is a genre with which I am developing a fuller and more positive relationship. Based on past reading experiences, I had previously avoided this area of literature thinking it too dry or, even worse, too gushy and unrealistically romantic. But then, through a few excellent selections by my in-person book group, I began to really love historical fiction and also began to actively seek it out when making my reading choices.

In 2006, I read The Birth House by Ami McKay. A-HA! This was great historical fiction! (The novel was a national bestseller in Canada and was longlisted for the 2008 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.) When I heard McKay had another book being released, I was so excited and couldn't wait to immerse myself in it. The Virgin Cure does not disappoint! Like The Birth House, it encompasses everything I want in a story: well developed and realistic characters, rich and layered settings and a very compelling narrative. I didn't feel smacked in the face by an author trying to cram an overwhelming amount of research into their story. (A sensation I have experienced several times while reading historical fiction. When this happens, the research becomes very obvious, and I am taken out of the story.)

This novel is so vivid. In reading McKay's words, I felt as though I could see, hear, touch and smell the world of Lower Manhattan in 1871. The story follows a brief and chaotic year in the life of twelve-year-old Moth Fenwick. Moth's voice grabs attention from the first line: "I am Moth, a girl from the lowest part of Chrystie Street, born to a slum-house mystic and the man who broke her heart." Immediately I felt a protectiveness of Moth and read the story with the hope she would emerge from her lot in life with as little damage as possible.

The slice of life McKay introduces to readers is bleak. The people living in the slums of New York City seem fated to desperation and struggle for survival. "Boys grew into guttersnipes, then pickpockets, then roughs... Girls sold matches and pins, then flowers and hot corn and then themselves." But Moth is a feisty and determined girl and far less naive than a twelve-year-old should be. She has very modest dreams and plans to escape her mother and their life when she turns thirteen. Fully realizing that she, as a young girl, is a commodity - whether sold by her mother to work as a servant for well-to-do families, or selling her virginity to the highest bidder - "It was never a question of yes or no. It was simply a matter of which man would have you first." Moth's wish is to be in control of her own life and negotiate the world on her own terms, even though her options seem very limited.

Moth's mother preempts her daughter's escape plans by selling her into service to Mrs. Wentworth, a woman who turns out to be cruel and irrational. Not wanting to disappoint her mother or lose their source of financial support, Moth endures vicious treatment and abuse at the hands of Mrs. Wentworth. After one particularly brutal attack, Moth realizes she must leave the house in order to save herself further harm. After her mother abandons her, and always in the mindset of a survivor, Moth becomes another homeless child trying to eke out a living on the streets of the Bowery.

During this time, Moth meets Miss Everett, known for running an excellent brothel (as far as these things go, I suppose). She caters to a clientele who pay a premium for the virginity of the girls she has trained. Moth realizes this is not an ideal situation but sees this choice as a means to an end and a way to fulfill her dreams of escape. Through Miss Everett Moth meets Dr. Sadie, a female physician, and finally we have a character with a voice of reason who tries to protect Moth and recognizes the magnitude of problems facing women in the slums of New York. Dr. Sadie tries to offer an alternative life to Moth, tries to let her know she can provide Moth a different path to follow. Dr. Sadie also offers the young girl an education in health, hygiene and disease.

The title of the book may be a curiosity to some. The Virgin Cure references a misguided and harmful belief that men suffering from syphilis could sleep with a virgin and be cured of their disease. Through the voices of Moth and Dr. Sadie we come to learn how extensive this belief is and how tragic the outcomes are.

While much of my description of the book and the information in this review may seem dark or heavy, The Virgin Cure is to be commended for addressing a difficult subject with humanity and in a way that is very accessible to readers. This story is full of life, and the will of a young girl to find a better way in the world than the one she knows is so strong on every page. McKay doesn't make Moth's journey easy, and that is to her credit. Moth must travel the path set out from her birth. That she does so wisely and with her eyes open - despite enduring pain, loss, and sadness - makes the experience of reading The Virgin Cure so much more real. Moth will take up space in your heart, and you will thank McKay for the gift of this story.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in June 2012, and has been updated for the July 2013 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Virgin Cure, try these:

  • Winter Sisters jacket

    Winter Sisters

    by Robin Oliveira

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter comes a rich and compelling historical novel about the disappearance of two young girls after a cataclysmic blizzard, and what happens when their fate is discovered.

  • The Language of Flowers jacket

    The Language of Flowers

    by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

    Published 2012

    About this book

    A mesmerizing, moving, and elegantly written debut novel, The Language of Flowers beautifully weaves past and present, creating a vivid portrait of an unforgettable woman whose gift for flowers helps her change the lives of others even as she struggles to overcome her own troubled past.

We have 5 read-alikes for The Virgin Cure, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Ami McKay
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.