BookBrowse Reviews Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wonder

by R.J. Palacio

Wonder by R.J. Palacio X
Wonder by R.J. Palacio
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Feb 2012, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The story of an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face, Ages 8+


Winner of the BookBrowse 2012 Best Book for Younger Readers Award
I am sitting in my local bakery right now and there is a young man here. He is different from me. He looks different and sounds different. And I find myself wanting to gaze over at him while, at the same time, wanting to avert my eyes. Not because I am afraid, nor because I am repelled, but because I don't know how to respond... The way I feel is complicated.

R.J. Palacio's debut novel, Wonder, examines these kinds of complex emotions in a way that is strikingly simple. I don't mean that it is an easy book. It is not. And I don't mean that its structure is plain or undemanding. It is neither. Palacio has created a story that spans the 5th grade year in the life of Auggie Pullman. Of course Auggie's life is anything but simple. He has undergone 27 surgeries on his face and still won't describe what he looks like. As he says, "Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse." Plus he has been home-schooled his whole life, and this is the year he finally goes outside of his apartment and into an actual school.

But still - the story is a simple one. Auggie comes from an ordinary family. He lives with both his mother and his father - two funny, compassionate, loving, concerned parents. He has one teenaged sister who is struggling to figure out who she is and how to relate to her family. Auggie has a good friend. He makes a few more. He becomes the target of a few bullies. The school year follows a typical rhythm, full of holidays and class projects and field trips. Simple stuff. Unassuming stuff. And it is precisely because Wonder is so simple and unassuming that its truth is able to permeate every single page. There is a unique intimacy that Palacio has created with this book, so much so that it is as though she has eliminated the ink and paper (or text and screen) and has offered, instead, a living, breathing experience that unfolds between the reader and the story. The emotions are raw and pure. The actions are clear and vibrant. This is particularly true for Auggie; he is a visual shock to everyone who meets him, and is thus a shock to the reader's imagination as well. Because Palacio is immensely skillful at paring down her words to their essential intentions, and because she does not waste space or time with extra description or metaphor or her own opinion, the heart of Wonder pounds loud and clear.

This is also why R.J. Palacio's choice to write from multiple perspectives works so beautifully. Each voice is distinctive. Moving from one person's shoes to another is an effortless process. And so the reader is able to understand each character's thoughts and feelings and, more importantly, to believe them. The lines between us and them dissolve. The reader can imagine being Auggie's friend, or his sister, or his sister's boyfriend. The reader can imagine being Auggie.

Wonder rings its bell, and the note that reverberates in the air slips effortlessly into the reader's body. It hangs there, and the reader can't help but be changed. It is a meditation of a novel. A story that asks the reader to feel her way into kindness, empathy, and openness. And without a doubt, the reader, upon experiencing it, responds with a deep, resounding yes. Wonder is recommended for middle grade and young adult readers. It is a perfect book to open up discussions between students or book club members.

Reviewed by Tamara Smith

This review is from the June 14, 2012 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.