BookBrowse Reviews Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wonder

by R.J. Palacio

Wonder by R.J. Palacio X
Wonder by R.J. Palacio
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Feb 2012, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Ellis Smith
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The story of an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face, Ages 8+


Winner of the BookBrowse 2012 Best Book for Younger Readers Award
I am sitting in my local bakery right now and there is a young man here. He is different from me. He looks different and sounds different. And I find myself wanting to gaze over at him while, at the same time, wanting to avert my eyes. Not because I am afraid, nor because I am repelled, but because I don't know how to respond... The way I feel is complicated.

R.J. Palacio's debut novel, Wonder, examines these kinds of complex emotions in a way that is strikingly simple. I don't mean that it is an easy book. It is not. And I don't mean that its structure is plain or undemanding. It is neither. Palacio has created a story that spans the 5th grade year in the life of Auggie Pullman. Of course Auggie's life is anything but simple. He has undergone 27 surgeries on his face and still won't describe what he looks like. As he says, "Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse." Plus he has been home-schooled his whole life, and this is the year he finally goes outside of his apartment and into an actual school.

But still - the story is a simple one. Auggie comes from an ordinary family. He lives with both his mother and his father - two funny, compassionate, loving, concerned parents. He has one teenaged sister who is struggling to figure out who she is and how to relate to her family. Auggie has a good friend. He makes a few more. He becomes the target of a few bullies. The school year follows a typical rhythm, full of holidays and class projects and field trips. Simple stuff. Unassuming stuff. And it is precisely because Wonder is so simple and unassuming that its truth is able to permeate every single page. There is a unique intimacy that Palacio has created with this book, so much so that it is as though she has eliminated the ink and paper (or text and screen) and has offered, instead, a living, breathing experience that unfolds between the reader and the story. The emotions are raw and pure. The actions are clear and vibrant. This is particularly true for Auggie; he is a visual shock to everyone who meets him, and is thus a shock to the reader's imagination as well. Because Palacio is immensely skillful at paring down her words to their essential intentions, and because she does not waste space or time with extra description or metaphor or her own opinion, the heart of Wonder pounds loud and clear.

This is also why R.J. Palacio's choice to write from multiple perspectives works so beautifully. Each voice is distinctive. Moving from one person's shoes to another is an effortless process. And so the reader is able to understand each character's thoughts and feelings and, more importantly, to believe them. The lines between us and them dissolve. The reader can imagine being Auggie's friend, or his sister, or his sister's boyfriend. The reader can imagine being Auggie.

Wonder rings its bell, and the note that reverberates in the air slips effortlessly into the reader's body. It hangs there, and the reader can't help but be changed. It is a meditation of a novel. A story that asks the reader to feel her way into kindness, empathy, and openness. And without a doubt, the reader, upon experiencing it, responds with a deep, resounding yes. Wonder is recommended for middle grade and young adult readers. It is a perfect book to open up discussions between students or book club members.

Reviewed by Tamara Ellis Smith

This review is from the June 14, 2012 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.