Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Forgotten Country by Catherine Chung

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Forgotten Country

by Catherine Chung

Forgotten Country by Catherine Chung X
Forgotten Country by Catherine Chung
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2012, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2013, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A modern narrative interspersed with Korean parables about familial obligation and authentic identity

Chung's writing style reminds me of a fine painting where every brush stroke is laid down with purpose and control. Discipline is a word that comes to mind. Restraint is another. Nothing that is written is meant to be taken lightly. Every word has a job. Nothing extraneous is exposed. It is a style that suits the book's focus perfectly.

This is, after all, a novel about a family that communicates via stories, little parables whose meanings are not explicit but instead are couched inside the listener's mind. Maybe it's not the most efficient method of communicating. It's certainly not the most effective since it requires cooperation between the person relating the story and the one who is hearing it. And if the listener mishears or misinterprets the story's meaning, well, that is Chung's central theme. Because when Janie's grandmother tells her a story about how every generation of their family loses a daughter, the poor child takes on her baby sister's care as a personal responsibility. Whether that is what her grandmother intended or not is unclear. Regardless, it ends up being a heavy load placed upon the child.

The obvious consequence is a family paradigm where everyone, including baby sister Hannah, expects Janie to guard her, protecting her not just from outside danger but from self-inflicted harm and strife. The fact that it is an impossible task is what creates the basic conflict in the book. Combined with the added dimension of a family uprooted and thrust into a totally alien culture that values bluntness over parable, work over family, and the plot branches out in several directions. Chung successfully reins in these branches by employing the first person narrative. Her skill here makes it easy to forget this is a work of fiction. Indeed it reads so much like a personal memoir that I had to wonder if it really isn't a thinly veiled account of the author's own experience.

I guess that is neither here nor there because either way Chung knows her protagonist, and the strength of that finely tuned characterization carries the plot. Even when some plot points remain unresolved, it is forgivable because, well, that's just the kind of person Janie is. Her Eastern/Western culture blend doesn't provide easy answers or pat resolutions. So, reader, we will have to forego them as well. No matter. Really. Some of the best books leave us with undigested morsels to ponder at our leisure.

Now that Chung has reached such a high bar with fiction-as-memoir I look forward to where her considerable skills will take her next.

Reviewed by Donna Chavez

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in March 2012, and has been updated for the March 2013 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Kwangju Massacre

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Forgotten Country, try these:

  • The Kinship of Secrets jacket

    The Kinship of Secrets

    by Eugenia Kim

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the author of The Calligrapher's Daughter comes the riveting story of two sisters, one raised in the United States, the other in South Korea, and the family that bound them together even as the Korean War kept them apart.

  • A Kim Jong-Il Production jacket

    A Kim Jong-Il Production

    by Paul Fischer

    Published 2015

    About this book

    More by this author

    A rare glimpse into a secretive world, illuminating a fascinating chapter of North Korea's history that helps explain how it became the hermetically sealed, intensely stage-managed country it remains today.

We have 11 read-alikes for Forgotten Country, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Catherine Chung
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.