The Kwangju Massacre: Background information when reading Forgotten Country

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Forgotten Country

by Catherine Chung

Forgotten Country by Catherine Chung
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2012, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2013, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Kwangju Massacre

Print Review

The family in Forgotten Country flees South Korea in the tumultuous wake of what many South Koreans consider to be the worst tragedy in Korean history since World War II - worse even than the Korean War. Indeed by all accounts the event that took place in May of 1980, known as the Kwangju Massacre, when hundreds of students and private citizens of a university town (also known as Gwangju or Gwangju Metropolitan City) were slain by the Korean military, is widely acknowledged as a national tragedy.

Map of Kwangju, South Korea It all began as a demonstration against the military dictatorship of General Chun Doo Hwan who had dashed any hopes of democratic elections upon the assassination of South Korea's previous leader by declaring martial law and imposing strict reins on the press. Pro-democracy students took to the streets in protest on May 18 and were met with armed military resistance. As sympathetic citizens and other university students witnessed what was happening on television, thousands more joined the protesters.

The students, many of whom had recently completed their one-year mandatory military service soon took arms in defense. Other young men in the midst of their obligatory military service, regardless of their sympathies, were called upon to violently oppose the pro-democracy crowds. Shots were fired and bombs were detonated over the next ten days in the formerly bucolic rural town and the immediate surrounding area. Tighter clamps were put on freedoms until ultimately, anyone even heard uttering the name Kwangju risked being arrested.

Mangwol-dong Cemetary In the end, the estimates of fatalities from the Kwangju Massacre range from the South Korean government's official tally of 200 dead to unofficial counts by witnesses who insist the dead number upwards of ten times that sum. As democracy subsequently began to take a stronger hold in the nation, the government eventually paid reparations to the families of about 200 civilians killed during the protest.

To read accounts of the Kwangju Massacre, click on the New York Times article entitled "The People of Kwangju Recall 1980 Massacre" or visit the Flying Yangban blog.

Map by ASDFGH
Bottom image of the Mangwol-dong cemetery in Gwangju where victims' bodies are buried, by Rhythm.

Article by Donna Chavez

This article was originally published in March 2012, and has been updated for the March 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.