BookBrowse Reviews The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The American Heiress

A Novel

by Daisy Goodwin

The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Mar 2012, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elizabeth Whitmore Funk

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An entertaining debut novel that brings the opulence of the Gilded Age to life

Sometimes you want a novel to do more than tell a story. You want it to mix a dashing male lead who pays homage to Jane Austen's characters with a spunky heroine who conjures memories of Scarlett O'Hara and dramatic settings in the tradition of the Sherlock Holmes stories. Oh yes - and you want the said novel to be an easy, light read with a pace that can keep up with its lively characters. You want something that doesn't require a lot of effort or thought, but provides a great deal of drama and sass. When you're in such a mood, Daisy Goodwin's The American Heiress (titled My Last Duchess in the U.K.) fits the bill.

Pieces of this debut novel from Daisy Goodwin remind me of the young adult novels I enjoyed as a preteen: the Journey to America series, The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi, and even The Swiss Family Robinson. These stories are all written in a linear, plot-driven fashion and contend with issues of self-reliance, independence, and adventure. Such elements are strong in The American Heiress and are arguably stronger than the historical content and glamorous settings found within the book. The novel centers on transatlantic issues and how the contrast between the old and new world influences feminism, race, and class. Often, though, these issues are presented through stereotypical conventions: a poor African American from South Carolina, a restrictive corset, a timid English scullery maid.

Goodwin does not, as the book jacket claims, write in the vein of Edith Wharton and Jane Austen, but she does construct characters that wear similar clothing and eat the popular foods of Wharton's Gilded Age. Unfortunately, American Heiress suffers from too many issues of craft and construction to place the book in the traditions of heralded nineteenth century authors: there's a reliance on plot tropes (fainting women, anyone?), a resort to stating character qualities rather than showing them through action, and the historical content can be summed up as "one too many Marie Antoinette references". Arguably, the story feels like it exists in some ambiguous time between the late 1700s and the early 1900s; with the exception of scenes in Newport, much of the novel feels unbound to a particular time period. Add into this mix of problems the fact that the main character lacks personality and isn't a particularly likeable individual.

Yet, despite these foibles, I truly enjoyed the story. It unfurls quickly, and the characters are recognizable and easy to get to know. It's good, plain old pleasure reading that provides an escape to a world that is opulent and glorious, which is a welcome digression in times of austerity and economic flux. The pages fly by, and in the two days it took me to read the entire volume, I let myself relax into a dramatic flight of fancy. It's worth reading for the fun of reading, for the sake of being whisked off somewhere dramatic and regal. While I'm not always in the mood to read a book that will simply mute the rest of the world, occasionally I am, and in those times a story like The American Heiress is perfect.

This review is from the March 21, 2012 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Rules of Magic
    The Rules of Magic
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's Rules of Magic is the long-awaited prequel to one of her most cherished novels,...
  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...
  • Book Jacket: Five-Carat Soul
    Five-Carat Soul
    by James McBride
    In the short story "Sonny's Blues," from the 1965 collection Going to Meet the Man, African-...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    A moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.