BookBrowse Reviews Quiet by Susan Cain

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Quiet

The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

by Susan Cain

Quiet by Susan Cain X
Quiet by Susan Cain
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2012, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2013, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie

Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An examination of how our culture undervalues introverts and what we could gain by changing our perspective

When I heard through the book lovers' grapevine that a new title was to be published about the power of introverts, I couldn't wait to get a copy. As an unabashed introvert and someone who has read numerous books about this personality type, I was both eager and curious to read the new "it" book on the subject. And once I started reading, it quickly became evident that Susan Cain's contribution to the existing body of literature would be significant. Yes, she is an introvert and can therefore write from personal experience, but she is also an avid researcher of both the traditional and the real-world immersion kind. Though her research is current and substantial, the basic tenets of introvert-versus-extrovert issues she explores are, for the most part, not revelatory. Rather, it is her big picture view and her unification of so many aspects of one maligned temperament that make the book an excellent read.

Quiet is different from previous books on introversion because it explores the topic from so many perspectives. Other titles on this subject tend to be strictly in the self-help genre or straight memoir. Cain approaches introversion as a cultural anthropologist might, looking for all the ways it affects our society. How does a person become introverted? Can introverted people be good leaders? How does our education system affect the learning and well-being of introverted children? What is the best way to parent introverted children? Can introverted people be good at public speaking? Should introverted people try to act extroverted to fit in? Cain explores all of these questions and more with a mixture of anecdote, science, and personal experience.

She talks to pastors, takes seminars from hyper motivational-speaker gurus, interviews high school students who are children of first generation immigrants to the U.S., and mingles with Harvard Business School graduate students - all with the goal of fleshing out what would otherwise be strictly data and survey samples. Quiet's closing chapter, "On Cobblers and Generals," which tackles parenting introverted children, is one of the book's most valuable and contains the most unique information. In it, Cain offers not just practical tips, but also some thought-provoking information about how introverted children are wrongly perceived and the long-term damage this causes.

One of Cain's many accomplishments with Quiet is that she creates a work that reaches readers outside of the introverted spectrum. People interested in science, psychology, or the art of communicating with an introvert will all find value here. Because her treatment of the topic is wider than elsewhere - addressing it in American history, other cultures, in religion, in parenting, etc - I occasionally had trouble following the numerous threads of focus. Cain covers so much ground that I wish she had lingered more on some points and broken up the narrative less with abundant scientific research and study results. Nevertheless, Quiet is a satisfying read and a welcome addition to introverts' plea for the understanding and appreciation of our extroverted western world.

Reviewed by Stacey Brownlie

This review was originally published in February 2012, and has been updated for the January 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Introverts and the Internet

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.