Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Quiet by Susan Cain

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Quiet

The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

by Susan Cain

Quiet by Susan Cain X
Quiet by Susan Cain
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2012, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2013, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie
Buy This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An examination of how our culture undervalues introverts and what we could gain by changing our perspective

When I heard through the book lovers' grapevine that a new title was to be published about the power of introverts, I couldn't wait to get a copy. As an unabashed introvert and someone who has read numerous books about this personality type, I was both eager and curious to read the new "it" book on the subject. And once I started reading, it quickly became evident that Susan Cain's contribution to the existing body of literature would be significant. Yes, she is an introvert and can therefore write from personal experience, but she is also an avid researcher of both the traditional and the real-world immersion kind. Though her research is current and substantial, the basic tenets of introvert-versus-extrovert issues she explores are, for the most part, not revelatory. Rather, it is her big picture view and her unification of so many aspects of one maligned temperament that make the book an excellent read.

Quiet is different from previous books on introversion because it explores the topic from so many perspectives. Other titles on this subject tend to be strictly in the self-help genre or straight memoir. Cain approaches introversion as a cultural anthropologist might, looking for all the ways it affects our society. How does a person become introverted? Can introverted people be good leaders? How does our education system affect the learning and well-being of introverted children? What is the best way to parent introverted children? Can introverted people be good at public speaking? Should introverted people try to act extroverted to fit in? Cain explores all of these questions and more with a mixture of anecdote, science, and personal experience.

She talks to pastors, takes seminars from hyper motivational-speaker gurus, interviews high school students who are children of first generation immigrants to the U.S., and mingles with Harvard Business School graduate students - all with the goal of fleshing out what would otherwise be strictly data and survey samples. Quiet's closing chapter, "On Cobblers and Generals," which tackles parenting introverted children, is one of the book's most valuable and contains the most unique information. In it, Cain offers not just practical tips, but also some thought-provoking information about how introverted children are wrongly perceived and the long-term damage this causes.

One of Cain's many accomplishments with Quiet is that she creates a work that reaches readers outside of the introverted spectrum. People interested in science, psychology, or the art of communicating with an introvert will all find value here. Because her treatment of the topic is wider than elsewhere - addressing it in American history, other cultures, in religion, in parenting, etc - I occasionally had trouble following the numerous threads of focus. Cain covers so much ground that I wish she had lingered more on some points and broken up the narrative less with abundant scientific research and study results. Nevertheless, Quiet is a satisfying read and a welcome addition to introverts' plea for the understanding and appreciation of our extroverted western world.

Reviewed by Stacey Brownlie

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2012, and has been updated for the February 2013 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Introverts and the Internet

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Quiet, try these:

  • Academy Street jacket

    Academy Street

    by Mary Costello

    Published 2016

    About this book

    A vibrant, intimate, hypnotic portrait of one woman's life, from an important new writer.

  • My Age of Anxiety jacket

    My Age of Anxiety

    by Scott Stossel

    Published 2015

    About this book

    A riveting, revelatory, and moving account of the author's struggles with anxiety, and of the history of efforts by scientists, philosophers, and writers to understand the condition.

We have 8 read-alikes for Quiet, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.