Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Life by Mal Peet

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Life

An Exploded Diagram

by Mal Peet

Life by Mal Peet X
Life by Mal Peet
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2011, 416 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2013, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An epic tale of young love against the backdrop of the Cold War and the Cuban Missile Crisis

Mal Peet is one of those authors whose work defies categorization. He tends to write novels in which the protagonists are older (as in Exposed, a retelling of Shakespeare's Othello, set in the world of professional soccer) or in which the subjects and themes are mature (as in Tamar, a complex historical novel about the World War II resistance movement). Although his books are marketed as young adult novels, they would certainly appeal to adults as well.

Peet's newest work is no exception. The only inelegant aspect of Life: An Exploded Diagram is its title; elsewhere, Peet showcases the kind of skillful plotting and fearless exploration that have earned him a terrific reputation - and no shortage of awards.

Clem Ackroyd's arrival in the world in 1945 is marked by an explosion, as his mother Ruth - out in the garden to appease a late-pregnancy rhubarb craving - narrowly avoids being hit by the last suicidal German bomber of World War II and, consequently, goes into early labor. Clem, who is raised through toddlerhood by his ineffectual mother and bitter grandmother while his soldier father, George, is away, never quite trusts his father - even after his return from war.

Although in humble Norfolk, England, "Getting above yourself [is] a heinous and peculiar sin," George has certain ambitions for himself and his family - moving them out of the squalid, cramped Victorian cottage where Clem was born and into a modern estate house with indoor plumbing. He also accepts a job repairing machinery for Gerard Mortimer, the wealthiest landowner in the district.

Meanwhile, teenaged Clem has his own ambitions, enduring private school on scholarship and setting his sights on art school in the future. But when he meets beautiful Frankie Mortimer, the daughter of his father's employer, he discovers that only one ambition matters: making her his.

The year is 1962 however, and any desperation on Clem's part pales in comparison to the urgency of world events. U.S. president John F. Kennedy and Soviet premier Nikita Khrushchev are locked in a battle of wills - backed with enough firepower to destroy the planet - over an island country in the Caribbean. The whole world waits to see what the next day will bring - if it even comes at all.

Although anyone who's taken U.S. history knows the ultimate outcome of the Cuban Missile Crisis, Peet nevertheless manages to make the standoff between the Americans and the Soviets suspenseful in the way he alternates between presenting monumental events with depicting extremely intimate ones. The novel effectively illustrates those tense October days in 1962, even going so far as to include whole transcriptions of conversations in Kennedy's war room. But it also probes into the philosophies and personalities behind the headlines, from Kennedy, whom Peet characterizes as "a wreck of a man," to Khrushchev, whom he describes as "hard as a drill bit and as cunning as a lavatory rat."

Beyond genuinely sophisticated discussions of military strategy, Peet portrays the effects of the crisis on everyday people, namely Clem, who uses his fear of nuclear annihilation (and Andrew Marvell's poem "To His Coy Mistress") to finally woo Frankie. And they - like the scared world around them - are never the same again.

Peet's novel is full of small, wonderful, often funny details. Ruth's rhubarb craving; the "exquisitely carved wooden camel" with a brass-hinged hump that George brings back from Egypt that later becomes the ideal place for Clem to store his dope in the late '60s. Mostly though, the affecting details have to do with Clem and Frankie's awkward fumbling toward one another. "It's one of life's countless little cruelties," writes the narrator, who is Clem in later life, "that you never forget your first time." He remembers a young Frankie ruminating, "I expect it's something one gets better at with practice. Like the violin. Or anything, really." Mal Peet manages to convince readers, just as Clem and Frankie are convinced, that the force of young love is every bit as powerful as the forces that can destroy - or preserve - the world.

So is Peet's novel for adults or for teens? In the end it doesn't really matter. This novel - about the patterns of war and peace, about the forces that propel humans to wage war or to pursue reconciliation, about the impulse to create as well as destroy - will speak, like any good story, to perceptive, thoughtful readers, whatever their age.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in November 2011, and has been updated for the February 2013 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Cuban Missile Crisis

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Life, try these:

We have 7 read-alikes for Life, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Mal Peet
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.