BookBrowse Reviews The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Forgotten Waltz

by Anne Enright

The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright X
The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2011, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2012, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A look at fractured family life in Ireland and the consequences of one woman's adulterous affair

I spent recent months reading plenty of novels by smart, young, cutting-edge writers; it was fun and invigorating. But now it feels appropriate to read a darker novel - about adultery and its consequences - by a seasoned author who knows the various pathways of the heart.

The Forgotten Waltz, set in and around Dublin, encompasses those incredible years of booming economic growth (the era of the Celtic Tiger) when Ireland, after all its centuries of being an impoverished outsider, finally became a player in the mad scramble for wealth that characterized the early years of the millennium. Gina Moynihan - a recently married career woman who feels she can have any kind of life, house, job or husband that she wants - falls in love with an older married man over a period of five years and infrequent encounters.

At first it is simply lust, drunken indulgence, meeting Seán Vallely in hotel rooms. The kissing is more transporting than the actual sex; the sneaking around more exciting than the man himself. And in what Gina suspects is an attempt by Seán's wife Aileen to check out the competition, she receives an invitation to the Vallely's annual New Year's Day party. Something about the encounter with her lover's wife and daughter Evie raises a dalliance into a full-blown affair. An almost innocent air of just fooling around becomes the messy business of adultery.

The novel begins in 2009, after all the dirty deeds have broken up the two marriages. Gina, who narrates her own tale, looks back in an effort to understand how she ended up living in her deceased mother's house with a man who now seems rather ordinary. She tells us, "I can't be too bothered here, with chronology. The idea that if you tell it, one thing after another, then everything will make sense. It doesn't make sense." And she's right. It doesn't all make sense - not even to the reader; Gina looks back over the past seven years like someone awaking from a dream or coming out of an obsession.

In the first sentence of the preface we learn that "If it hadn't been for the child then none of this might have happened, but the fact that a child was involved made everything that much harder to forgive." In this almost-too-subtle hint that Evie is a central and important character, we also discover that there is something peculiar about the girl - but not until the very end do we find out what and why.

What did Gina want? What did Seán want? It is not entirely clear, but I found myself fascinated and puzzled by these questions - unable to stop thinking about them - until I had reached my own conclusions several hours after turning the last page. What appears to be a simple story of adultery certainly has a secret layer. In her Booker Prize-winning novel The Gathering, Anne Enright tells a dark and shameful family saga, and though The Forgotten Waltz is lighter, it is nonetheless a searing examination of Irish family life as it plays out in our fractured, contemporary world.

Reviewed by Judy Krueger

This review was originally published in October 2011, and has been updated for the April 2012 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Adultery in Literature

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.