BookBrowse Reviews Tiny Sunbirds, Far Away by Christie Watson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tiny Sunbirds, Far Away

by Christie Watson

Tiny Sunbirds, Far Away by Christie Watson X
Tiny Sunbirds, Far Away by Christie Watson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    May 2011, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beverly Melven

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A debut novel for adults about young girl coming of age in rural Nigeria

Meet Blessing. She has lost her father, and been moved abruptly from her life in the Nigerian city of Lagos to a rural existence she'd never even witnessed before. School is an expensive privilege she hates. Her brother's health issues put his life at risk daily. Her grandparents are very poor, and her mother has a difficult time finding work. As Blessing opens her eyes to this new world around her - frightening and uncomfortable - she also learns to open her eyes to the life she had before, which was not as perfect as she imagined.

Tiny Sunbirds Far Away is equal parts plot and character - I never seemed to reach a good place to stop, so I read it in two days, staying up past my bedtime for "just one more page." What this book does best is put you inside the world of 12-year-old Blessing as that world is turned upside down - in a place where the whole social structure is in upheaval as well, so that personal events mirror society as a whole. The cultural upheaval that comes from the post-colonial presence of foreign oil companies is important to the story, but we see it strictly through its immediate effects on Blessing's life. Interpersonal politics are important here, not governmental policies.

Though the main character is young, Tiny Sunbirds Far Away is not written for young readers. The themes are examined from a mature perspective, though the viewpoint is clearly that of a young girl coming of age. I remember reading this kind of book when I was in high school, so I think mature younger readers will enjoy it, but the primary audience is clearly adults. Events which are confusing to Blessing are clear to adult readers. That distance between what the reader knows and what the character doesn't understand emphasizes the isolation Blessing feels from her family and the world around her.

Female characters dominate, with a realistic range of strong, proud, scared, vain, shallow and intelligent women who ring true while still giving us role models to invest in. Grandma is the star, and becomes the anchor in Blessing's life as she struggles to find something stable. While everyone else is searching for something, Grandma has never let go of the traditions that define her. As a result, it is Grandma who shows Blessing who she wants to be, and keeps the rest of the family from disintegrating. She is not perfect, but she knows who she is, and can tell you who you are if you'd care to listen. In the end, Blessing discovers that she has to understand her place in her family before she can decide who she wants to be as an individual.

While I didn't find much that was unique or surprising in Tiny Sunbirds Far Away, it is a great example of a coming-of-age novel done right.

Reviewed by Beverly Melven

This review is from the June 15, 2011 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.