BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews The Brothers of Baker Street by Michael Robertson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Brothers of Baker Street by Michael Robertson

The Brothers of Baker Street

A Mystery

by Michael Robertson
  • BookBrowse Review:
  • Critics' Consensus:
  • First Published:
  • Mar 1, 2011
  • Paperback:
  • Nov 2011
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A page-turning caper and the second book in this Holmesian mystery series

In the second book of the Heath brothers mystery series, The Brothers of Baker Street, author Michael Robertson fuses past with present, Holmesian cleverness with action-packed adventure, and delivers a delightfully entertaining read.

I must admit, I have a penchant for novels that conjure images of Gothic/Victorian London: mysteries shrouded in a gray fog, a murderer absconding in the pitch of night along cobblestone roads, gas lamps burning outside of unfriendly pubs, and oversized crows hopping through cemeteries, scrounging for their next meals... the darkness of it all is absolutely enthralling. In The Brothers of Baker Street, Robertson deftly creates this creepiness but with an exciting new twist; he intertwines the old with a more modern (1997) London, which breathes contemporary relevance into his story. And what makes it work so well is that he largely avoids (though not entirely) describing London through its most famous tourist attractions. Instead, Robertson takes readers down side streets, through the English countryside, and inside local hangouts for a lively game of snooker. His sense of place is vivid, and at times you can almost smell the sweet cherry tobacco of Holmes's pipe wafting in the rainy night. Robertson writes:

Well on toward three in the morning, a smallish figure in a hooded mac stood at the far end of an isolated dock in the Limehouse district... Standing at the end of the dock and looking out, one could almost see shapes, like small animals, leaping up out of the dark gray river into the light gray fog, darting chaotically about, swirling in cat curves and then vanishing, out of focus, like lost thoughts.

His characters are well developed and engaging, though it is clear from the references to the first book in the series, The Baker Street Letters, that a history has already been established between them. (For example, I detected a bit of passion between the love of Reggie's life, Laura Rankin, and Reggie's brother Nigel, though it's never actually explained in the book. And what exactly happened in Los Angeles that caused Reggie to lose his fortune, his girlfriend, and his professional reputation?) While it piques the reader's curiosity about past events (and the first book), it certainly doesn't prevent The Brothers of Baker Street from being enjoyed on its own merits.

The mysterious, revenge-seeking "descendant" of the fictional Professor James Moriarty - a person who is unable to recognize that Reggie Heath is not Sherlock Holmes - had, in my opinion, the potential to be a much stronger character. The intrigue of someone who can't tell the difference between fantasy and reality, especially when they're willing to commit murder, is so compelling, but Robertson doesn't seem to take the character as far as he could have. Honestly, I feel that way about the book as a whole; it was very enjoyable to read, and it is filled with great descriptions, pieces of interesting information (in particular about the training process and reputation of London Black Cab drivers), it is well written... but it simply was not as heavy-hitting as I had wanted it to be. At no point was I absolutely glued to the book, as I was with Julian Barnes's Arthur & George, but I was always happy to pick it up to read a little more. In this way, I would definitely recommend The Brothers of Baker Street to anyone looking for a fun, light and enjoyably English murder mystery.

Reviewed by Elena Spagnolie

This review first ran in the April 20, 2011 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  221b Baker Street

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Brothers of Baker Street, try these:

  • No Mark Upon Her jacket

    No Mark Upon Her

    by Deborah Crombie

    Published 2013

    About This book

    More by this author

    New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie makes her mark with this absorbing, finely hued tale of suspense - a deeply atmospheric and twisting mystery full of deadly secrets, salacious lies, and unexpected betrayals involving the mysterious drowning of a Met detective - an accomplished rower - on the Thames.

  • The Trinity Six jacket

    The Trinity Six

    by Charles Cumming

    Published 2012

    About This book

    More by this author

    The most closely-guarded secret of the Cold War is about to be exposed – the identity of a SIXTH member of the infamous Cambridge spy ring. And people are killing for it…

We have 6 read-alikes for The Brothers of Baker Street, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Michael Robertson
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Blue Ruin
    Blue Ruin
    by Hari Kunzru
    Like Red Pill and White Tears, the first two novels in Hari Kunzru's loosely connected Three-...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.